Strawberry Angel Food Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Absolutely delish! Made this yesterday afternoon with the following modifications: Made my own glaze as suggested by so many others on the website using 1 qt. berries, sliced, 1 C. sugar, 3T cornstarch and lime juice. I also added some blueberries. I can't really judge how well it would be with store bought glaze, but with homemade it was yummmmy! Can't wait to have some more tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Make this all the time my whole family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Very good! Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krakken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
My husband says this beats out any strawberry shortcake receipe that he has ever eaten and to top that this has moved to the top of the dessert list of stuff that I make (for that to beat out cinnamon chip cookies and triple chocolate cake is pretty something). Anyway, I made a few slight changes, but most of it stayed the same... I used 2 quarts of fresh strawberries -- using about 1 1/2 quarts to mix in the glaze and the other on top of the strawberry glaze mixture. I used a store bought glaze (because I didn't have a whole lot of time) that wasn't the name brand kind nor was it the generic brand and it wasn't half bad. I also ended up using about 12 oz of whipped topping and added a touch of vanilla to the cream cheese and whipped topping mixture. Thanks to TABKAT for great receipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Excellent and easy to make. My family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was really yummy! I would make a few changes tho... next time only use one package of cream cheese instead of two and double the whipped topping. I also used a homemade glaze as another reviewer suggested, it consisted of cooking for 5 minutes- 1 lb of strawberries, 1 cup of sugar, 3 tbs of corn starch and 1 tbs of lime juice. Please note this one lb does not include the 1 lb the recipe calls for. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla to the cream cheese whipped topping mixture. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Yahoo!!!! A beautiful presentation of strawberries! Fantastic! The "once a month girls" thought this was the "bomb". I did make my own glaze AND used 2 pkgs of lady fingers. I layered he lady fingers inside the bottom of the trifle bowl! Sort of looked like a picket fence. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Would give 5 stars but this was way too much glaze. I used a sugar free angel food cake, fat free cream cheese, splenda, fat free cool whip and sugar free glaze. Made for a decent dessert with way less calories. I'm sure this would taste much better using light cream cheese and light cool whip- guees it depends on how much those extra calories mean to you :) Using all the sugar/fat free stuff really gave that sweetener type of taste- no fault of this recipe.... just throwing out the info in case you are sensitive to that taste. Made this is a trifle bowl- looked great. Next time I will use much less glaze, maybe extra strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Sorry I and my family did not care for this recipe. We all agreed the strawberry glaze ruined it. I would suggest trying this again and using thawed frozen berries or a cooled down slurry mixed with sliced strawberries so that the juices soak into the cake and omitting the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I cut the strawberry glaze in half and doubled the strawberries. It turned out perfect! My entire family was begging for seconds! This recipe is incredibly easy, you can't go wrong!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States