Strawberry and Peanut Butter Cream Cake Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I had never made a jelly roll before and was worried it might be complicated or that the cake would fall apart with the slightest touch. I was very pleasantly surprised. I made this recipe as is and it turned out wonderfully. Very easy and fast! The kids loved the peanut butter and jam flavor more so than the adults, but I am looking forward to trying different fillings. This cake recipe is a perfect jelly roll texture :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was good. My family enjoyed this. I didn't make any changes trying this for the first but you could choose many different fillings for this. The bake time in the recipe was slightly off for my oven, I checked it at 10 minutes and then added another 5 minutes to the time, this is when I took it out, but I probably could have left it in another few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
everyone loved this. I added less PS to the filling, and more pnb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I loved the cake dough, it was very easy to make and roll. Im definetly repeating this with different fillings. Thank you !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is a very easy recipe, however, I felt that the almond extract was very overpowering and I did not taste the pbj. Next time I will delete the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
YUM! This recipe was excellent! Instead of 1 cup flour I used 1/2 cup flour and 1/2 cup baking cocoa. Then for the filling I used milk chocolate Betty Crocker icing. It was yum!!! Absolutely delicious. I didn't do a great job rolling it, and it stuck a bit, but that's because I was trying out a silicone mat for the first time and used that instead of the 'prepared towel'. Had I stuck to the recipe's instructions I'm sure it would've turned out better! But it still looks half-decent, and it tastes AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
The cake recipe is fine (I subbed vanilla extract for the almond), but the directions are vague. I remembered my Aunt making jelly rolls, and rolling the cake WITH the towel rolled in it. I looked in Betty Crocker's cookbook, and got better directions (and the same recipe, minus one egg.) Also, like with anything you roll-up, you shouldn't spread the filling to the end, it'll just squish out the end and make your cake messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was actually pretty simple to make. I'm not very impressed with the taste. It tasted like a PB&J sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shadys1
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I used raspberry preserves and almond butter with almond and raspberry extracts in the filling and almond extract in the cake. I might mix extracts in the cake as the almond extract took the lead, which I love, but others might want the fruit to be the standout flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States