Strawberries in Spiced Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
5 Stars Plus!!! YOWZA!!! I made this exactly except that I made one error which I may continue to keep on doing! I put vanilla ice cream and the strawberries in a desert dish and poured the syrup over that while the syrup was still very warm (stupid move I now know - but we loved what happened!) When the syrup hit the cold ice cream it hardened (like the top of a creme brulee) while it remained syrupy on the strawberries. I cannot tell you how we liked the result. I am going to make it again tonite the proper way but this is a keeper!!! And sooo easy - thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
What a great idea! It reminded me of the way my mom used to prepare strawberries for us as kids. Just sugar, water, and let the sliced strawberries soak for a few hours in the fridge. Making it into a "syrup" with cinnamon and nutmeg definitely gives it a kick. I served it in a wine glass over 2 scoops of ice cream topped with a dollop of whipped cream, garnished with a mint leaf, and there you have a rich, fancy dessert! It'll please the whole family! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GotRice?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
A nice and easy way to dress up strawberries. I used Splenda instead of sugar and the consistency was weird so I wouldn't recommend the substitution. Pairs nicely with light Cool Whip for a low calorie desssert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melly Gee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made a trial run of this today, hoping I could put this in my Christmas baskets this year as pancake syrup. I did subtract two tbsp. water and added two tbsp. lemon juice. To make this a little thinner, I ran the berries through the blender, coarsely chopping them. I like it, just the way I hoped it would turn out though it is a little sweet. I might cut back the sugar just a bit. I'd like to see if I can't try this with cranberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This is wonderful!!! I made it exactly as above, only increased the syrup to one and a half batches (we like extra syrup)! I also added a small package of blueberries to the strawberries. Put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on pound cake and topped it with the berries. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Very easy and tasty! I made this to serve with/over cream cheese-filled crepes. I can't wait to see what else it's good on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Van Wert, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This is a ggreat recipe. Simple, savory and sweet. But, I saved on the sugar calories by using 1/4 cup sugar to one pound of strawberries 1/4 teaspoon of stavia instead. Thanks for this great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjharbor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Great stuff, LFRAME - Thanks! Mom used to do something like that, but without the nutmeg. Great on just strawberries - even better layered in a bowl, cooled in the fridge, then adding a couple scoops of homemade vanilla ice cream, strawberries, more syrup and a little whipped cream! Try it with pineapple bits and ice cream, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Delicious! This was so easy to make. At first, I was a tiny bit worried about pouring brownish, warm syrup all over my delicious, freshly picked, unsuspecting strawberries--but I'm glad I did! I let the berries macerate in the syrup for a while, then poured it over pieces of Sara's Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake; first, we sliced the shortcake down the middle, horizontally, then put the syrup on the bottom and top layers. Let that soak while you walk to the corner grocery for some whipped cream...HEAVENLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Clearly I don't know how to make a simple syrup; this is the second recipe where I've messed it up. I need to buy a candy thermometer and practice a few times! I boiled this for 10 minutes, added the other ingredients, and let it sit for a few minutes off the heat as directed. Well, it hardened in about a minute and wasn't syrupy at all! So I added an extra 1/2 c. of water, re-melted the sugar, and boiled for about 3 minutes. When I took it off the heat, it remained syrupy. I just put it over sliced strawberries and it was tasty...the spices were a nice addition, as was adding a warm sauce. So in spite of my inability to properly boil sugar and water, this still turned out quite yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States