Strawberries in Spiced Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This is wonderful!!! I made it exactly as above, only increased the syrup to one and a half batches (we like extra syrup)! I also added a small package of blueberries to the strawberries. Put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on pound cake and topped it with the berries. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
My kids loved it...I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Wow, this was something! I wasn't sure I'd like it just reading the recipe, but when I poured it over ice cream (with the strawberries of course) the layers of flavor really popped! Nicely done, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Wow great recipe. This made a wonderful topping to ice cream.. Had a little extra left and used it the next day again and it seemed to have more flavor after it marinated for a day.. Definitely will make this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiota, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
What a great idea! It reminded me of the way my mom used to prepare strawberries for us as kids. Just sugar, water, and let the sliced strawberries soak for a few hours in the fridge. Making it into a "syrup" with cinnamon and nutmeg definitely gives it a kick. I served it in a wine glass over 2 scoops of ice cream topped with a dollop of whipped cream, garnished with a mint leaf, and there you have a rich, fancy dessert! It'll please the whole family! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GotRice?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
A nice and easy way to dress up strawberries. I used Splenda instead of sugar and the consistency was weird so I wouldn't recommend the substitution. Pairs nicely with light Cool Whip for a low calorie desssert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melly Gee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by w
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I also added coriander for extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Clearly I don't know how to make a simple syrup; this is the second recipe where I've messed it up. I need to buy a candy thermometer and practice a few times! I boiled this for 10 minutes, added the other ingredients, and let it sit for a few minutes off the heat as directed. Well, it hardened in about a minute and wasn't syrupy at all! So I added an extra 1/2 c. of water, re-melted the sugar, and boiled for about 3 minutes. When I took it off the heat, it remained syrupy. I just put it over sliced strawberries and it was tasty...the spices were a nice addition, as was adding a warm sauce. So in spite of my inability to properly boil sugar and water, this still turned out quite yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Delicious! This was so easy to make. At first, I was a tiny bit worried about pouring brownish, warm syrup all over my delicious, freshly picked, unsuspecting strawberries--but I'm glad I did! I let the berries macerate in the syrup for a while, then poured it over pieces of Sara's Scrumptious Strawberry Shortcake; first, we sliced the shortcake down the middle, horizontally, then put the syrup on the bottom and top layers. Let that soak while you walk to the corner grocery for some whipped cream...HEAVENLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Great stuff, LFRAME - Thanks! Mom used to do something like that, but without the nutmeg. Great on just strawberries - even better layered in a bowl, cooled in the fridge, then adding a couple scoops of homemade vanilla ice cream, strawberries, more syrup and a little whipped cream! Try it with pineapple bits and ice cream, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States