Strawberries in Spiced Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This just didn't work for us. Husband thought it tasted like cough syrup. I boiled it for 12 minutes, and sugar still remained crystalized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Very easy and tasty! I made this to serve with/over cream cheese-filled crepes. I can't wait to see what else it's good on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Van Wert, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
After searching long and hard for a good strawberry shortcake recipe, I stumbled across this for the sauce to pour over top and WOW it was sooooo good! As with most recipes, I take two or three that I like and combine - I ended up blending some strawberries in a blender and adding it to the sauce as well as adding some sliced strawberries to the sauce right before it was done to soak up the sauce a bit, but not become soggy. I also used Splenda in place of sugar and it worked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Huge hit at our housewarming party. It was requested for me to bring to the graduation party 2 weeks later. Kids loved it. Topped it with whipped topping. I had double the batch and I think I got 1 strawberry out if it. Went fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Rapids, Kansas, USA
Living In: Odell, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This is a ggreat recipe. Simple, savory and sweet. But, I saved on the sugar calories by using 1/4 cup sugar to one pound of strawberries 1/4 teaspoon of stavia instead. Thanks for this great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjharbor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I loved this little recipe! My husband and I celebrated last nite, and as a little touch, I added a layer of sweet rasberries with strawberries. Talk about nice! Came out awesome..And to boot, we had a glass of champagne with the dessert, so I dropped a little rasberry and a little slice of strawberry to the glasses of champagne, and it was simply DIVINE!!! He loved it, and it was a great hit. I did as the recipe called for, and to speed up the cooling, I placed the bowls of the fruit in the freezer, so the syrup carmelized the fruit very nicely. Thanks so much! It is a keeper for the holidays! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Absolutely Delicious! I used mine on the french toast waffle recipe on this site. Excellent breakfast for a sunday morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Natomas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I made this recipe tonight for my husband and me, and we both found it equally unappealing. I used the required ingredients, only cut down on the sugar and used about 3/4 cups, and it still tasted horribly sweet. The sweetness of this was incredibly disturbing, and even the sour taste of the strawberries did not help at all. I am a huge fan of cinammon, but it really did not work in this case with all the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Very different, but delicious. Great on ice cream, but I prefer them alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FONDUE79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States