Strawberries in Spiced Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I didn't really care for this recipe ... SO sweet! WAY sweet! The spices were fine and all that, but I think at least half the sugar would have been fine ... possibly more than half! Maybe with some tweaking it would be a 5-star for us, but I doubt I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was simply fantastic. We didn't expect it to rival our gorgonzola crusted filet mignon for best dish of the night, but it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOEMCK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Excellent taste. I made a half batch and used only 1/3 cup sugar. A little tricky if you've never made syrup before but worth the learning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cameo
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This was different. Didn't care for it to much. Something in it was too much but, couldn't figure out what. It wasn't horrible but, will not be making this again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Quick and easy to prepare. I will cut back on the sugar as we thought it was very sweet using fresh picked berries. Served with french vanilla ice cream and crushed graham crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was sooooo AWESOME. Made it for my husband's birthday (he insisted on having NO cake... but said this was better than anything he could've asked for!). Served over vanilla bean ice cream and strawberries, as mentioned by previous reviewer. LOVED IT!!! Can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meiling206
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Not too bad. I had only one pint strawberries so cut the recipe in 1/2. I also only used 1/3 cup sugar and it turned out nicely. I ate mine over chocolate and vanilla ice cream and my roommate ate his over some short bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meiling206

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Not sure I made this correctly. This is a bit outside of my normal cooking--not a big syrup fan, so I had a bit of trouble. I may have overcooked it, because it was a bit grainy. It was good with ice cream, and it helped rescue some strawberries, but I'd have to try it again to be sure I'm doing it right. I do like the spices in it--regular syrup just doesn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I thought this was delicious! I only had one pint of strawberries so I halved the recipe. Had this with waffles and whipped cream---so good!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Maybe I shouldn't have given this 3 stars, because I think it was mostly my fault I didn't like it. I tried to follow the recipe but messed up. First, I addded the vanilla before boiling (not sure if that makes a difference). Then I guess I boiled it too long or something, because it got super sticky, like molasses candy or something, and almost glued my mouth shut. Pretty bad. If it was actually a sryup it would have been better, but I still wouldn't try again, because I don't think that strawberries need that much sweetness - it kind of overpowers the berries. Maybe if I had bad quality strawberries I'd try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States