Strawberries in Spiced Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made a trial run of this today, hoping I could put this in my Christmas baskets this year as pancake syrup. I did subtract two tbsp. water and added two tbsp. lemon juice. To make this a little thinner, I ran the berries through the blender, coarsely chopping them. I like it, just the way I hoped it would turn out though it is a little sweet. I might cut back the sugar just a bit. I'd like to see if I can't try this with cranberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Super simple, quick and very tasty! I poured it over some waffles and couldn't ge enough of it! I would use it on pancakes, biscuits or pound cake too. I want to try this same recipe with blueberries, apples and other fruit I always seem to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Really yummy, the nutmeg and cinnamon were wonderful with the fresh berries. The two pints sliced strawberries yield a product with plenty of delicious strawberry-spiced syrup, in the future I'll probably use three pints with that amount of syrup for a thicker topping as is my preference. Thanks very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Wonderful! I made as detailed and served with my grandmother shortcake recipe and a dollop of ricotta. The whole house smelled wonderful too. Will suely make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
WOW!!! I have strawberries (fresh picked) from my garden and didn't have a clue as to what to do with so many strawberries!! FANTASTIC recipe!!!...I didn't use the measurements exactly (I used only 1/4 cup of sugar; 1 tblspn. vanilla; dash of cinnamon) and added a little red wine (I had sitting on my counter) and POW!!!! DELICIOSO!!! Can't wait till hubby comes home to try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Super simple and very tastey! I did not change a thing. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
pretty good. i served it w/ strawberries, cool whip, and home made biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This recipe was very yummy. I will definitely make this one again. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortcake3210

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I've made this several times now - the first time I used it as pancake syrup. I thawed frozen whole strawberries and mashed them with the sugar/water/spice syrup. I made it the same way the second time, except used it as a dessert sauce over purchased pound cake with a spoonful of vanilla yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Pretty good. I can understand how the flavor of the nutmeg can be off putting to some. As far as I know, I followed the recipe, only I substituted Splenda for Baking for sugar. When I first tried the syrup, it was strong, but I let it cool off and let the strawberries marinate, and it was fine. Good flavor. I plan to pour the berries over cheesecake tomorrow. Tonight I'm eating it with a bit of whipped cream - a nice compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States