Strawberries in Spiced Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made a trial run of this today, hoping I could put this in my Christmas baskets this year as pancake syrup. I did subtract two tbsp. water and added two tbsp. lemon juice. To make this a little thinner, I ran the berries through the blender, coarsely chopping them. I like it, just the way I hoped it would turn out though it is a little sweet. I might cut back the sugar just a bit. I'd like to see if I can't try this with cranberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Super simple, quick and very tasty! I poured it over some waffles and couldn't ge enough of it! I would use it on pancakes, biscuits or pound cake too. I want to try this same recipe with blueberries, apples and other fruit I always seem to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Really yummy, the nutmeg and cinnamon were wonderful with the fresh berries. The two pints sliced strawberries yield a product with plenty of delicious strawberry-spiced syrup, in the future I'll probably use three pints with that amount of syrup for a thicker topping as is my preference. Thanks very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Wonderful! I made as detailed and served with my grandmother shortcake recipe and a dollop of ricotta. The whole house smelled wonderful too. Will suely make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
WOW!!! I have strawberries (fresh picked) from my garden and didn't have a clue as to what to do with so many strawberries!! FANTASTIC recipe!!!...I didn't use the measurements exactly (I used only 1/4 cup of sugar; 1 tblspn. vanilla; dash of cinnamon) and added a little red wine (I had sitting on my counter) and POW!!!! DELICIOSO!!! Can't wait till hubby comes home to try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Super simple and very tastey! I did not change a thing. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
pretty good. i served it w/ strawberries, cool whip, and home made biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This recipe was very yummy. I will definitely make this one again. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortcake3210

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I've made this several times now - the first time I used it as pancake syrup. I thawed frozen whole strawberries and mashed them with the sugar/water/spice syrup. I made it the same way the second time, except used it as a dessert sauce over purchased pound cake with a spoonful of vanilla yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Pretty good. I can understand how the flavor of the nutmeg can be off putting to some. As far as I know, I followed the recipe, only I substituted Splenda for Baking for sugar. When I first tried the syrup, it was strong, but I let it cool off and let the strawberries marinate, and it was fine. Good flavor. I plan to pour the berries over cheesecake tomorrow. Tonight I'm eating it with a bit of whipped cream - a nice compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States