Strawberries Flambeed in Vodka with Hot Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
A very very different taste. But a very very good one! The ice cream had a definite kick to it, but it wasn't too intense. I also added some raspberries. I'll make it again, but definitely make sure everyone eating it enjoys spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STUMPYRACCOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
What a neat recipe! It really plays with your senses! the cold ice cream is actually hot and the warm sauce is actually soothing! This was a fun treat to make AND to eat. Very tasty!! Five stars for originality and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Very interesting and different, my fiance loved it! The mixture of sweet cold and spicy almost tastes like cinnomon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Absolutely loved this. The ice cream is pretty spicy by itself, but the flavor and sweetness of the strawberries balances it. (Think of salsa...some is hot but not flavorful, some has both spice and flavor.) I served this over slices of pound cake. Oh, and the recipe easily makes enough for four people...it's way too much for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I have also done this with blueberries and whiskey. My favorite dessert recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I DID THIS WITHOUT THE HOT SAUCE, IMPRESSIVE YET APPEALING TO THE EYE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was good, but not great. I felt the pepper sauce was too biting. But in reviewing the recipe, I think I goofed and doubled the ratio of ice cream to hot sauce. I doubled the recipe for printing and then halved it for cooking (because some guests didn't come). May have forgotten to put in just half the amount of hot sauce the printed recipe called for. Ya think that may have made a difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Strange but good! Husband liked it more than I did. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This was good, but next time I would not add the butter, vodka and hot sauce. I found it a little too spicy for my family. I will definetley make this again with my new modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
My boyfriend loved. I disliked it. I probably won't make it again. It just didn't sit well in my stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States