Strawberries and Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Loved it used my cheap White Zin. Made it taste a lot better then it ever should. Ate them straight not on any cake or ice cream, thinking i will get some ice cream tommrow and eat the rest with that. I did let them soak for about 6 hours and expect the rest to taste better tommrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
This was so good! Would be great over ice cream but I ate them right out the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJMIKELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This is a great little "dessert". I suggest slicing the strawberries as thin as you can vertically, but not too thin. Also, use confectioners sugar because it will dissolve easier. I have them sitting in Moet and Chandon White Star Champagne. It's not too sweet but it has the kick that soda gives you. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Didn't measure the ingredients, just eyeballed. Loved the flavor that the wine emparts to the strawberries. Used a New Zealand sauvignon blanc. You don't want a chardonnay because this variental's characteristics would bite with the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
made this for a dinner with friends, and it was quick, easy, and VERY well received. i want to try it with champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
the strawberry flavor and the sugar white wine makes a great taste after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
I marinated it overnight, which improved the flavor and cuts down on the wine-y aftertaste. It's very good served over angelfood cake! I served it after a rich dinner (alfredo), and it was a perfect dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
It was pretty good. My Hubby loved it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Oh is this nice. I'm glad I saved some strawberries for this recipe because the other one I made was a big disappointment. I did as one of the reviewers suggested and marinated it overnight. I used a blush wine. I was a little piggy and ate most of the strawberries myself! LOL!! They are so good. I added a lot of sugar becuase I love my strawberries super sweet. This is a definate keeper! Thanx for a great idea Shelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I enjoyed this recipe! I capped the strawberries and sliced them in half. I cut back on the sugar a little because the strawberries that I had were very sweet. I used a Kabinnett wine which is on the sweeter side as well. I marinated these strawberries for two days in the fridge. Only because I forgot them the day that I made them. The last day I added fresh blueberries and let them marinate for about 1 hour. I used the bisquick recipe for individual shortcakes and spooned the strawberry/blueberry mixture and a few spoons of the wine mixture over the cakes which I cut in half. A huge hit! They turned out beautifully and tasted fabulous too! I didn't have any whipped cream, but I am sure that a spoon full would have been great on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States