Strawberries and Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I'm late with this review. I used less than 1/2 c. powdered sugar and "Three Buck Chuck" White Zin. Marinated 24+ hours. I served over chunks of light Angel Food cake and topped with Cool Whip. My guests were salivating! THE FIRST TIME I MADE THIS, MY FRIEND, HUSBAND, AND I JUST TOOK SPOONS AND HUDDLED OVER THE BOWL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This is a great little "dessert". I suggest slicing the strawberries as thin as you can vertically, but not too thin. Also, use confectioners sugar because it will dissolve easier. I have them sitting in Moet and Chandon White Star Champagne. It's not too sweet but it has the kick that soda gives you. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Didn't measure the ingredients, just eyeballed. Loved the flavor that the wine emparts to the strawberries. Used a New Zealand sauvignon blanc. You don't want a chardonnay because this variental's characteristics would bite with the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Loved it used my cheap White Zin. Made it taste a lot better then it ever should. Ate them straight not on any cake or ice cream, thinking i will get some ice cream tommrow and eat the rest with that. I did let them soak for about 6 hours and expect the rest to taste better tommrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Wonderful! I admit that I used Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is a good low cal recipe for those days you are craving sugar. I made with Chardonnay and let sit overnight. I would love to try this with a good champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
My family has made this since I can remember, except we use RED wine, and it is so delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I used 1/3 C. confectioners' sugar, added blueberries and raspberries, and used rose wine I had; it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I used a Riesling and served the stawberrys with sugar cookies. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
Good Recipe. I used wine that had sugar in it (arbor mist), and I think that helped a lot. The strawberries were better the 3rd day of sitting then they were the 1st however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States