Strawberries and Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
I marinated it overnight, which improved the flavor and cuts down on the wine-y aftertaste. It's very good served over angelfood cake! I served it after a rich dinner (alfredo), and it was a perfect dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
the strawberry flavor and the sugar white wine makes a great taste after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
This was alright. A nice, light, fruity side dish maybe or light dessert. Didn't have a super amount of taste but that can be expected. Wine did complement the fruit nicely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Ward Sheehan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
made this for a dinner with friends, and it was quick, easy, and VERY well received. i want to try it with champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Didn't measure the ingredients, just eyeballed. Loved the flavor that the wine emparts to the strawberries. Used a New Zealand sauvignon blanc. You don't want a chardonnay because this variental's characteristics would bite with the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This was pretty good. I served it over vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
Maybe I did something wrong ... like maybe a more distinct wine should have been used. We didn't think it was that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This is a great little "dessert". I suggest slicing the strawberries as thin as you can vertically, but not too thin. Also, use confectioners sugar because it will dissolve easier. I have them sitting in Moet and Chandon White Star Champagne. It's not too sweet but it has the kick that soda gives you. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
Good Recipe. I used wine that had sugar in it (arbor mist), and I think that helped a lot. The strawberries were better the 3rd day of sitting then they were the 1st however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Not bad. Next time, I will use a sweeter wine (Peisporter maybe) than Chardonnay. It made the strawberries somewhat bitter. Also, I may try using powdered suger instead of granular. The wine was delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States