Strawberries and Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
It's ok but rather bland. I would not have it as your only dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This was a very refreshing dessert and very little prep required. As 1 reader suggested serving it over bisquick shortcakes, which is what I did, It was just perfect as the dry cake absorbed the juice. Yumm! Great for summer picnics too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Mmmmm yummy! I used slightly less sugar... but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Highland Village, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I enjoyed this recipe! I capped the strawberries and sliced them in half. I cut back on the sugar a little because the strawberries that I had were very sweet. I used a Kabinnett wine which is on the sweeter side as well. I marinated these strawberries for two days in the fridge. Only because I forgot them the day that I made them. The last day I added fresh blueberries and let them marinate for about 1 hour. I used the bisquick recipe for individual shortcakes and spooned the strawberry/blueberry mixture and a few spoons of the wine mixture over the cakes which I cut in half. A huge hit! They turned out beautifully and tasted fabulous too! I didn't have any whipped cream, but I am sure that a spoon full would have been great on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Loved it used my cheap White Zin. Made it taste a lot better then it ever should. Ate them straight not on any cake or ice cream, thinking i will get some ice cream tommrow and eat the rest with that. I did let them soak for about 6 hours and expect the rest to taste better tommrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
this was very good. used powdered sugar and pinot grigio. served over vanilla ice cream. yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This recipe was good, not great. I've made it alone and served it on shortcake with whipped cream, which was particularly nice. (For an easy dessert, try it with the recipe for shortcake on the back of a box of Bisquick.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Liberty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I loved these! I also used white zin but it was a little lackluster. I think next time (maybe tomorrow) I will try it in a sauvignon blanc. I drizzed it over slices of vanilla iced pound cake as well as ate them alone. Yummy either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Oh is this nice. I'm glad I saved some strawberries for this recipe because the other one I made was a big disappointment. I did as one of the reviewers suggested and marinated it overnight. I used a blush wine. I was a little piggy and ate most of the strawberries myself! LOL!! They are so good. I added a lot of sugar becuase I love my strawberries super sweet. This is a definate keeper! Thanx for a great idea Shelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
It was pretty good. My Hubby loved it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States