Strawberries and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
The cake is beautiful, moist, and delicious. The cream cheese frosting is used only for piping (perhaps with a star tip) around the top of the cake, outlining a pool for the whipped cream. My suggestion is to halve the recipe for cream cheese frosting if you don't want lots of leftover frosting. It's a beautiful cake and if you're traveling with it, easy to take the plain layers with you, then add the berries and the whipped cream and assemble it when you arrive. Frosting comes in decorator tubes now so you could purchase that, attach a decorator tip, and then make the well for the whipped cream. Voila', easy and impressive cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I made this cake for some people I work with and it was a big hit. But instead of making it totally from scratch I used a yellow cake mix and substuited buttermilk for the milk and butter flavored crisco for the butter. I also used only 1/2 cup of sugar. I also used a dash of almond extract in the cream and frosting. and used 16 ounces of cream cheese in the frosting with just a dash of buttermilk to lossen it up for pipeing. The cake was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I baked this for my dad's birthday last weekend, and it was very good! One thing to note, the cake itself is pink, which was sort of funny at the birthday. The cake would be perfect for Mother's Day or a little girl's birthday. It's bright and very sweet. Put as many strawberries as you can into this--the strawberries offset its sweetness because they are tart and make for a well-balanced dessert. I didn't know exactly what the whipped cream was for... I put it around the outside, and it worked, but wasn't particularly necessary. The cream cheese frosting was divine, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This was better than your average strawberry shortcake. The cake part was very moist and dense. Although the cream cheese frosting on the sides was yummy, it was a little hard to ice with the whipped cream oozing out from between the layers. If you are short on time or want to cut the richness of the cake, you can easily skip on the frosting. I also should have listened to my instincts and used nonstick cooking spray instead of greasing and flouring the pans per the recipe. The cake layers stuck and I had to piece them back together. For anyone who hasn't tried it, I've never had a cake stick when using Pam or Mazola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC1126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This was amazing cake! I made one with the cream cheese icing, which was a little two sweet for us, but it was still great. The next one I made with just whipped cream instead of the icing and it was awesome! Great recipe thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I did not see the rubbery texture everyone was talking about. Nor did I find this too sweet. I was a little reluctant to make this cake because of some of the reviews, but this was a fantastic cake. I should have only used 2 pans instead of 3 because each layer came out about a half inch thick. I would have given this recipe 5 stars, but I found the whole cake to very slidey. Two layers definitely would have cut down on the sliding. The taste was great!!! My husband loved it. It is very simple to make and assemble. The red strawberries can be formed into a maple leaf over the white icing to be even more aesthetically pleasing! This is a wonderful summer-time cake for in season strawberries! I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This cake was one of three that I took to a church dessert buffet. I didn't get to taste it until it was almost gone, however, when I did I felt embarassed to think it came from my house. It made a nice presentation and all, but the texture was tough, almost rubbery. I don't know if its the recipe, or if I did something wrong. I checked the recipe again and felt that I had followed it verbatim. The flavor and appearance were good enough, but the texture pretty much ruined it for me. Sorry JJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This cake took alot longer to make than I expected - i.e. practically all day! The pink strawberry cake mix was VERY moist and filled only 2 nine-inch cake pans. To make it 3 layers, I made the centre layer from a store-bought chocolate cake mix. I decorated that top with sliced strawberries and chocolate shavings (see photos of this recipe). I think that a filling other than whipped cream would work better - the whipped cream seems too light and is somewhat absorbed by the cake - a stickier vanilla icing might be better. All the trouble was worth it - it got rave reviews at a family birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I made this for Christmas dinner- it was great. The layers needed to be cooked about 5 minutes longer. I used 2 pints of frozen strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
Way too much sugar in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States