Strawberries and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The cake was pretty easy to make and was beautiful when finished. The taste as others noted was a bit artificial because of the jello. You can cut back on the amount of jello. I did when I made it a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davidsonville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I made a smaller brndt cake by cutting 1/3 out of the recipe, and used even less sugar (1 cup). I didn't use the whipped cream filling and went straight to the frosting, where I cut the frosting recipe in half (and used less powdered sugar - 1 cup) in order to cover the bundt cake. Everyone had 2 servings, and a few 3! The original recipe has too much sugar for my personal taste, but I liked the changes I made and would make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made this cake for a family gathering. And even though I haven't cooked many cakes, this one got rave reviews. I made a few variations. Instead of making the cake from scratch, I used strawberry cake mix; also instead making the icing according to the recipe, I substituted cream cheese and strawberry icing. Delicious!! I will definitely be making this cake again and again! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is the BEST strawberry cake recipe ever. The cake is DIVINE, moist, yummy, full of flavor. I make this cake whenever I want to impress and it always impresses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Wasn't too big on the cream filling. But the flavor of the cake was great. The only thing I would do differently is bake at 325 for maybe 30-35 mins?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
this cake made a beautiful presentation and everyone loved it. I thought the flavor was just o.k. The icing was very sweet and the cake itself tasted like fake strawberries. Maybe next time i'll use some strawberry extract to enhance the strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This cake looked very nice when it was finished, though the taste was just all right. The favor seemed to be more with the cream cheese icing and whipped cream. The cake itself was a nice pink color, but the jello did give a bit of a "fake" taste, and a slightly fake aftertaste. I made it for my boyfriend and he liked it a lot. If I made this again, I would cut the sugar down to about 1.5 cups because this was too sweet. Also, I would look for all natural jello or try pudding instead. Good and fun to make, but not great or excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Was a really good cake- made it for our daughter's 4th B-Day. Had to make a couple of adjustments... My husband is allergic to wheat, but can tolerate spelt flour. Converting from cake flour to all-purpose flour to spelt flour was a little difficult, and the result was good. With a little more tweaking w/ the spelt, it would be great (that's why I rated 5 stars). I used 6 T. cornstarch + enough white spelt flour to make 3 c. total and a little (2 T.) less milk. Also used greased parchment to line the pans. The result was a little more dense than others had noted, next time will add more cornstarch, maybe 1/2 c. total, to cut down the amount of protein in the spelt. When I checked the cake at the earliest time, it looked really moist, so didn't test it. Five min. later I checked with a toothpick and was almost overdone. Next time will check early w/ toothpick. Also, I made 2 9" cake pans and 8 cupcakes. Extra treats for my husband- they went into the freezer after cooled. Oh- anyone who has baked w/ spelt knows the liquid to dry ratio always needs some adjustments, so I have to say I got these results in Washington State (but not that humid this time of year) and at sea level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
omg my friends love this cake. it stands up well and the spongy cake slices beautifully. flavor beats my local restaurant where everything is superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was a very delicious cake. I made it for my dad's birthday party and it was a hit. The only thing is the cake was a little dry. For the frosting, I pureed the strawberries and added them into the frosting mix. Also, I only used 2 layers of cake instead of 3 and it was easier to frost and put strawberries in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States