Strawberries and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Very good. I did not have any problems with the wipped cream being absorbed. I used heavy whipping cream and very well cooled cakes. I did need more sugar in the whipping cream, though. Make sure you taste test it for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alankanczes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This cake is incredible! I made is yesterday for my husband's birthday and everyone loved it but it is very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ericka J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Ive made this cake before and it came out fine.. but this time around it stuck to the pan.. my 1st attempt I put pam and flour.. it stuck bad to the pans.. so my 2nd attempt I put aluminum foil on the pans still a sticky mess.. uugghhh.. but the taste was delishious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Super yummy! Okay so like another review said you need the strawberries to tame down the sweetness of the cake and the whipped cream helps too. I am using the recipe to make a princess castle for my daughter's birthday so I made it in deeper pans so it took quite a bit longer to bake, almost an hour for the deepest one (about 4 inches deep). The sides got a little brown but after tasting the "brown" parts it doesn't taste at all burnt so don't worry if the sides turn brownish. I did cover the tops of the pans with foil for most the time though so the tops wouldn't burn. Love this recipe! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This is the MOST delicious strawberry cake I have ever made! I loved it, my husband loved it, the kids, the neighbors, my friends, oh yeah... Strawberry season will never pass by this house without me making this at least 2x.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMINIQUE24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Have made this cake a few times, and it's delicious. However, I think the frosting is a bit heavy for this cake, so I always use a whipped cream frosting instead. I made it for a friend's baby shower (can you guess the sex of the baby), and it received RAVE reviews... with the whipped cream frosting. There's absolutely nothing wrong with the cream cheese frosting; in fact, I've used it to frost red velvet cupcakes. It's just that I prefer a lighter topping for this cake. And it's excellent cold, straight out of the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
The caske was delicious, but I am not a great baker so the presentation was HORRIBLE. My cake did not bake in the center so the center caved in. I wouldn't try this receipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I made this for my son's birthday (his request). We loved it. Even my husband, who is not a cake eater, loved it...that says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made a little extra whipping cream and omitted the cream cheese frosting. The sweetness of the cake and mildness of the cream complimented each other perfectly. I will make this again, addding a lot more thinly strawberries in between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This cake was incredible! Everything turned out perfectly. It was a little time consuming because everything, including the whip cream and icing are made from scratch but it's not all the difficult and definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States