Strawberries and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Amazing! The cake is light, moist and absolutely delicious. Everyone raved about how good it turned out. Made this cake for a family event.. as my cakes were cooling on the rack, I was looking over the recipe and realized I only added 1 cup of sugar instead of the 2 cups the recipe calls for. Doh! It turned out to be a wonderful mistake. Everyone who ate the cake felt the extra cup of sugar would have made the cake too sweet, especially since the cream cheese frosting is so sweet. And my family isn't shy about giving an opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I made this cake for my Mother-in-Laws 60th Birthday cookout. It was a huge hit! Everyone raved and I have request to make it again for other family members Birthdays next year. I made it the day before and kept in the fridge until ready to serve. It was nice and refreshing since it was a little warm out. I also only used the whipped cream in the middle layers but covered the whole outside with the cream cheese frosting. I am telling you making this will be the best thing you have ever done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This cake took quite a while to bake. However it was really amazing. It was very sweet but instead of cream cheese icing I made buttercream just because we didn't have any cream cheese. But I think that's why it was so sweet. I love how pink it was it was very cute. And I read the reviews before I baked the cake and I made two layers as opposed to three and im glad I did. It took a lot of work to icing just the two of them and even cutting the cake it was really moist and literally fell apart in my fork. It was AMAZING. definitely saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
it was so sweet but no TO sweet my family loved it after tasting the batter nobody wanted to wait until it's frosted! YUM!!! - ivy p.s if you don't like it you made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivy
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I used the cake part of the recipe, and turned them into cupcakes instead. Filled the cups 2/3 full, baked at 350 for 25 min. The cupcakes came out wonderfully. Moist, flavorful, and my co-workers loved them! I've wanted a good strawberry cake since forever. Thank you JJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kuteketch
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I must not have done something right. It looked pretty but tasted awful. Nobody finished their slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I have to be honest. I did not like this cake at all. The flavor was underwhelming and the texture was unappealing. I have decades of baking experience and I know I followed the recipe precisely. So it wasn't baker's error. In the future I think I will try a recipe without the jello component (maybe strawberry Kool Aid instead to avoid the gelatin?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This cake is really good, but I've made it twice now and it keeps falling apart on me. It seems fine if you do it in a 13 x 9 instead of layers though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jitterbuggin

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Mel
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Great Recipe Guy's...I made this cake for my mom for valentines day, and it turned out great. I don't even like strawberries and I loved this cake as well...thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday. He and his family LOVED it! It was delicious. I think my favorite part was the frosting; it was divine. His family loved it so much that his sister asked me to make it for her birthday too! This cake will not disappoint. Definitely make it. The only change I made was that I made it two layers instead of three. It seems to work better as a 9-inch two-layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States