Strawberries and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I made this recipe for the first time on 14 January 2009. I opted to make it in a bundt pan and cooked it for an hour at 325º. It was delicious. I then used the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting recipe and piped "stars" on top of an along the sides of the cake. I finished it with some sliced strawberries on top and garnished the bottom of the cake with chocolate covered strawberries. (My photo is one of the many featured.) This was for a co-worker's birthday and she was overwhelmed at how beautiful the cake looked. Everyone at the office raved and raved about how delicious it was. Even I had a hard time staying away from taking seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele With One L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My mom requests this cake every year for her birthday. It is very good. I usually use my own yellow cake recipe for the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOPPNBROCCOLI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was a good cake....I used cisco and all purpose flour. No stick and make sure everything is dry. Next time I will double the cream cheese and put over the entire cake them decorate with the whip cream and strawberries. My husband wanted more strawberries in the cake itself. This was a hit and the huge cake was almost gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Okay, can you say "PARCHMENT PAPER." Please use it or you may end up with a trifle instead of a cake like me! I used non-stick pans, and greased them. None of them came out. Well, all at once that is! I was making this for my neighbor and it looked pathetic. I ended up making a trifle out of it. The components were simple and good, but "maker beware." :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Made this for my 4 year old Birthday June 18th. It was so delicious. It taste like Strawberry shortcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This cake was amazing, not too sweet at all. After reading the reviews, the only change I made was to pipe the cream cheese icing around the layers so I could pack in the whipped cream! Will definitely get a page in the recipe book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This cake was pretty good. A very pretty color. When I saw no salt on the list of ingredients, I assumed that something in the gelatin took care of that. But after tasting the cake, I think it would benefit from a little added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLICEOFHEAVEN
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is a great and fun cake to make! I made this cake twice and the first time I made it I greased the pans with butter and flour which was a huge mistake, the cakes stuck to the bottom and came apart even after the 10 min I let it cool. But the next time I used pan grease for the sides and bottom and then I used parchment paper on the bottom and the layes came out perfect! And to frost the cake I first crumbed the cake with a crusting buttercream icing to keep the whipped cream from running out of the sides and the with the creamcheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLICEOFHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I made this for a birthday party and it was great. Be aware that this is a very large cake ...make sure you have a lot of friends to share it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States