Strawberries and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I made this cake for our Memorial Day party and it was a HIT! Very appealing visually and very tasty. I only wish I had made two. Easy to make. My father came over at 11pm last night looking for another slice, it was gone and now he is demanding another cake asap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This is a great cake! I have made it several times and have received rave reviews! I love the fact that it doesn’t call for a boxed cake. Real homemade cake recipes are hard to find these days. I did make it with strawberry cream cheese in the frosting which was only needed for a strawberry obsession of a friend. Beautiful and moist, this cake has made to my favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Baham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I baked this cake for my hubby for v-day and he loved it! I used a different frosting though- just heaving whipping cream with vanilla and sugar- made for a light sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LyKi
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
As a rule it is generally accepted in my family that I CANNOT BAKE A CAKE! However, this one turned out wonderfully (presentation AND taste) - I heartily recommend and intent to make this again for one of our summer time get togethers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyKi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Good, but not quite what I was expecting. I wanted more of a natural strawberry flavor to these. The Jell-O, though providing a gorgeous color, gave it a slightly artificial taste. I did cut the sugar to 1.5 cups, could probably go a little less still. Frosted entire cake - not just sides - with the CC Frosting (still had a bunch left, definitely cut that in half!). And, only made it a two-layer cake. Pack your layers with berries. I didn't and really wish I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Christy
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
it was good, my hubby liked it (strawberry cake isnt my thing) but i think its way to much effort for a cake that is just o.k. i won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I made this recipe for the first time on 14 January 2009. I opted to make it in a bundt pan and cooked it for an hour at 325º. It was delicious. I then used the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting recipe and piped "stars" on top of an along the sides of the cake. I finished it with some sliced strawberries on top and garnished the bottom of the cake with chocolate covered strawberries. (My photo is one of the many featured.) This was for a co-worker's birthday and she was overwhelmed at how beautiful the cake looked. Everyone at the office raved and raved about how delicious it was. Even I had a hard time staying away from taking seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele With One L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My mom requests this cake every year for her birthday. It is very good. I usually use my own yellow cake recipe for the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOPPNBROCCOLI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was a good cake....I used cisco and all purpose flour. No stick and make sure everything is dry. Next time I will double the cream cheese and put over the entire cake them decorate with the whip cream and strawberries. My husband wanted more strawberries in the cake itself. This was a hit and the huge cake was almost gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Okay, can you say "PARCHMENT PAPER." Please use it or you may end up with a trifle instead of a cake like me! I used non-stick pans, and greased them. None of them came out. Well, all at once that is! I was making this for my neighbor and it looked pathetic. I ended up making a trifle out of it. The components were simple and good, but "maker beware." :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States