Strawberries and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
The presentation was beautiful and the birthday girl (my aunt) absolutely loved it. I did notice that the cake absorbed a lot of the whip cream filling so it is best to assemble the cake right before serving. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Delicious and moist. I made it with Ener-G egg replacer and Blue Bonnet Light due to allergies to egg and dairy and it was still amazing. I used regular flour and I can't imagine it being any better with cake flour. I put a strawberry puree in-between layers along with the frosting recipe (I used dairy-free cream cheese for the frosting). I used strawberry store bought frosting for the outside. I did not use the whipped cream due to the food allergies, but the strawberry puree/frosting mix was amazing. It didn't really even need frosting on the outside. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatyWT
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I made this cake for my hubby for his birthday, he always has strawberry cake. This year I wanted to make him a homemade one. This was by far the best strawberry cake we've ever had. It was moist and the flavor was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
The cake was a success for my first time. I definitely recommend this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was top notch! It only made two layers for me (as it did with other reviewers). I used 1 cup of sugar instead of 2. Next time I will change this to 1 1/4 cup sugar and 1 cup of puréed strawberries in the batter. I would prefer more of the fresh strawberry flavor mixed in. I did not make the whipped cream as I didn't want to hassle with it melting and dripping between the layer. I used cream cheese frosting (a different recipe that I prefer) between layer and around/on top of the cake. It was a real hit. A very very dense cake, almost like a pound cake. It was not at all dry like others complained of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JTellis
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Made this cake for Good Friday and it was AMAZING!!! Perfect in everyway!! Wonderful cake for summer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I used this recipe for the cake only and turned them into cupcakes as well. I had an idea for a strawberry cheesecake cupcake.. so I crushed graham crackers and made a crust of the bottom of the cupcake. I also added chunks of fresh strawberries on top of the puree to really make the strawberry flavor pop. Filled the cups with cream cheese frosting (used another recipe from the site), and topped with the 121 Whipped Cream recipe (also from this site), the remaining crushed crackers and a slice of the fresh strawberries! STRAIGHT DELICIOUS! I will say, that at times the cream cheese frosting/filling recipes are too sweet. I have learn to "temper" the powdered sugar, and not just dump it in the bowl, so I can control the sweet level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made this for a birthday party but used the Heavenly White Cake from this site so I wouldn't have a pink cake(mens birthday cake). I did use the cream cheese frosting and the whipped cream and strawberries filling. I didn't have any but the recipients loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Shawn
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
The cake itself was awesome, but the directions weren't exactly clear. Wasn't quite sure how much sugar to use for the cake itself. Ended up using 4 cups of powder sugar for the cake before realizing that the powder sugar was for the frosting. Either way the cake turned out awesomely terrific. Still need clarification on how much sugar is needed for the cake itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
No bad, however it was very moist. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States