Strawberries and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was top notch! It only made two layers for me (as it did with other reviewers). I used 1 cup of sugar instead of 2. Next time I will change this to 1 1/4 cup sugar and 1 cup of puréed strawberries in the batter. I would prefer more of the fresh strawberry flavor mixed in. I did not make the whipped cream as I didn't want to hassle with it melting and dripping between the layer. I used cream cheese frosting (a different recipe that I prefer) between layer and around/on top of the cake. It was a real hit. A very very dense cake, almost like a pound cake. It was not at all dry like others complained of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JTellis
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Made this cake for Good Friday and it was AMAZING!!! Perfect in everyway!! Wonderful cake for summer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I used this recipe for the cake only and turned them into cupcakes as well. I had an idea for a strawberry cheesecake cupcake.. so I crushed graham crackers and made a crust of the bottom of the cupcake. I also added chunks of fresh strawberries on top of the puree to really make the strawberry flavor pop. Filled the cups with cream cheese frosting (used another recipe from the site), and topped with the 121 Whipped Cream recipe (also from this site), the remaining crushed crackers and a slice of the fresh strawberries! STRAIGHT DELICIOUS! I will say, that at times the cream cheese frosting/filling recipes are too sweet. I have learn to "temper" the powdered sugar, and not just dump it in the bowl, so I can control the sweet level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made this for a birthday party but used the Heavenly White Cake from this site so I wouldn't have a pink cake(mens birthday cake). I did use the cream cheese frosting and the whipped cream and strawberries filling. I didn't have any but the recipients loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Shawn
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
The cake itself was awesome, but the directions weren't exactly clear. Wasn't quite sure how much sugar to use for the cake itself. Ended up using 4 cups of powder sugar for the cake before realizing that the powder sugar was for the frosting. Either way the cake turned out awesomely terrific. Still need clarification on how much sugar is needed for the cake itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
No bad, however it was very moist. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Amazing! The cake is light, moist and absolutely delicious. Everyone raved about how good it turned out. Made this cake for a family event.. as my cakes were cooling on the rack, I was looking over the recipe and realized I only added 1 cup of sugar instead of the 2 cups the recipe calls for. Doh! It turned out to be a wonderful mistake. Everyone who ate the cake felt the extra cup of sugar would have made the cake too sweet, especially since the cream cheese frosting is so sweet. And my family isn't shy about giving an opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I made this cake for my Mother-in-Laws 60th Birthday cookout. It was a huge hit! Everyone raved and I have request to make it again for other family members Birthdays next year. I made it the day before and kept in the fridge until ready to serve. It was nice and refreshing since it was a little warm out. I also only used the whipped cream in the middle layers but covered the whole outside with the cream cheese frosting. I am telling you making this will be the best thing you have ever done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This cake took quite a while to bake. However it was really amazing. It was very sweet but instead of cream cheese icing I made buttercream just because we didn't have any cream cheese. But I think that's why it was so sweet. I love how pink it was it was very cute. And I read the reviews before I baked the cake and I made two layers as opposed to three and im glad I did. It took a lot of work to icing just the two of them and even cutting the cake it was really moist and literally fell apart in my fork. It was AMAZING. definitely saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
it was so sweet but no TO sweet my family loved it after tasting the batter nobody wanted to wait until it's frosted! YUM!!! - ivy p.s if you don't like it you made it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivy

Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States