Strawberries and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I did a half batch in two 8" pans and the layers were thin (as expected) but it did work. The texture and taste weren't that great the night I baked them, but since it was for a group of four year olds I figured they wouldn't be that discerning and would mostly appreciate the pink colour. Turns out that once it was layered and frosted the next morning with the 'Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting' from this site, it actually was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kim R
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Flavor was ok but next time I'll skip the filling and just use icing all over. The filling only made the cake wet and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim R

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Made this for my sons 6th birthday. Everyone thought that the cake tasted amazing!!! They all said 5 star for sure!!! Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
The presentation was beautiful and the birthday girl (my aunt) absolutely loved it. I did notice that the cake absorbed a lot of the whip cream filling so it is best to assemble the cake right before serving. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Delicious and moist. I made it with Ener-G egg replacer and Blue Bonnet Light due to allergies to egg and dairy and it was still amazing. I used regular flour and I can't imagine it being any better with cake flour. I put a strawberry puree in-between layers along with the frosting recipe (I used dairy-free cream cheese for the frosting). I used strawberry store bought frosting for the outside. I did not use the whipped cream due to the food allergies, but the strawberry puree/frosting mix was amazing. It didn't really even need frosting on the outside. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatyWT
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I made this cake for my hubby for his birthday, he always has strawberry cake. This year I wanted to make him a homemade one. This was by far the best strawberry cake we've ever had. It was moist and the flavor was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
The cake was a success for my first time. I definitely recommend this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was top notch! It only made two layers for me (as it did with other reviewers). I used 1 cup of sugar instead of 2. Next time I will change this to 1 1/4 cup sugar and 1 cup of puréed strawberries in the batter. I would prefer more of the fresh strawberry flavor mixed in. I did not make the whipped cream as I didn't want to hassle with it melting and dripping between the layer. I used cream cheese frosting (a different recipe that I prefer) between layer and around/on top of the cake. It was a real hit. A very very dense cake, almost like a pound cake. It was not at all dry like others complained of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JTellis
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Made this cake for Good Friday and it was AMAZING!!! Perfect in everyway!! Wonderful cake for summer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I used this recipe for the cake only and turned them into cupcakes as well. I had an idea for a strawberry cheesecake cupcake.. so I crushed graham crackers and made a crust of the bottom of the cupcake. I also added chunks of fresh strawberries on top of the puree to really make the strawberry flavor pop. Filled the cups with cream cheese frosting (used another recipe from the site), and topped with the 121 Whipped Cream recipe (also from this site), the remaining crushed crackers and a slice of the fresh strawberries! STRAIGHT DELICIOUS! I will say, that at times the cream cheese frosting/filling recipes are too sweet. I have learn to "temper" the powdered sugar, and not just dump it in the bowl, so I can control the sweet level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States