Strawberries and Cream Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is a good bread pudding. I doubled the recipe but only used 5 eggs and one cup of sugar. I used country French bread. This bread pudding was mildly sweet with the reduction of sugar. I enjoyed it. My mother thought it was "marvelous." Others in the family liked it, too, but I had made a better than anything cake the same day, so it was hard to compete with that. :-) It took about 45 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaAshPash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
One day I made a lot of strawberry jam sandwiches for my daughter's birthday party, and there were a lot of leftover. The next day I hosted a dinner party and I made this Strawberry Bread Pudding for dessert and everybody loved it. I served it with vanilla ice cream. I did not use the strawberry jam because I used the jam sandwiches, and I reduced sugar to 1/4 cup. The sweetness is perfect. If you follow the exact recipe it will be super sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I am quite sure I must have done something horribly wrong, when it came out of the oven it was beautifully raised and fluffy, about 3 minutes into cooling and it flattened to about less than and inch thick. It tastes amazing. Is the flattening/deflating normal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I looove bread pudding and this tasted exactly as the title says, strawberries and cream but in a bread pudding! It was so good! I made this with some strawberries that was starting to go bad. So to use them all up I added more than the recipe stated. I did notice that the extra strawberries made extra juice in the bottom, so I needed to cook a little longer. I don't like my bread puddings dry and this had enough liquid in it to make it nice and creamy but with a slightly crunchy top. I also didn't want any extra calories from the melted butter, so I just sprayed my dish with cooking spray and it was fine. I let it sit for about 15 minutes to set up and sprinkled liberally with powdered sugar when plating. This would also be good with some thinly sliced almonds sprinkled on top while baking to give an extra crunch. Thanks for this great bread pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Was really excited to see this recipe. I can strawberry perserves (jam) every year w/big chunks of strawberries. Had everything to make including the preserves from last yr I needed to use because strawberry season is upon us...but no fresh strawberries..however I had fresh rasberries. Only change I made was to use 1 cup of fresh rasberries in place of the strawberry's and I added 1 cup of sugar to offset the tartness of the rasberries.....never ever have I made bread pudding without sauce but this one needed nary a thing...i will make this again...can't wait till the Louisiana strawberries are ready!!! This was "Berry" Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tylertown, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Excellent recipe. My husband is a picky eater, and he loves this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was a good bread pudding, and such a lovely pink color. My husband particularly like this dessert, I found it a little sweet, but I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made it last night and it turned out very well. I made few changes to the original recipe like e.g. I combined all the steps mentioned in point 2 into 1. Using an electrical blender I mixed in the strawberry preserve, milk, cream, vanilla essence, sugar, toasts and a pinch of cinnamon powder. Then I poured the mixture in the pan that was greased with melted butter. I sprinkled the fresh cut strawberries in it and then kept it for baking. It took 60 minutes for the pudding to be ready. The family loved it . I served it with cream and strawberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samia Asaad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This had great flavor! I used half of a loaf of leftover french bread. I also had to bake it for an additional 15-20 minute and it was still a little mushy. But, overall we really liked it, especially served with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Okay, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States