Strange Flavor Eggplant Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This recipe was very easy and very good. I added a bit more garlic. Next time I think I try adding some curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Yum, my family and friends love it! Perfect for vegetarians & vegans as well. I make it with "sesame sippits." Which are a combination of serian bread cut into strips brushed with oil, salt, pepper, and minced garlic, and cooked at 375 until crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eknights

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookline, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Yes, it's true, it's strange, but......oh so delicious! My husband just loved it. Didn't have enough eggplant, but had some commercial eggplant spread that really didn't have much flavor, so I added it also added some additional "hots". Will diffinitly try it again Thanks Laura
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
LEAVE OUT THE BROWN SUGAR!! When I copied down the recipe, I forgot the brown sugar, and it came out wonderfully. The second time I made it, I did put in the brown sugar and did not like it as much. My friends and husband didn't like it sweetened either. But without the sugar it is fabulous and chic! A really nice, flavorful, asian-inspired dip that will really impress everyone, even people who are not into eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladychroe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was very tasty! Like other reviewers, I was going to cut out the sugar, but still used 1/2 tablespoon because I splashed in a bit too much vinegar. I spread this on pita flat bread, and topped with feta, chopped tomatoes, and cilantro. My friend added a little extra salt and pepper and crushed black olives. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Very good & unique flavor. I followed the recipe ingredients except I used half the amount of soy sauce. I placed all of the ingredients except for the eggplant & onions in the blender to blend then slowly added eggplant which I had diced and cooked on stovetop. I then removed from blender, placed in microwave for ~2min then added onions and served. Easy this way and kept the strong ginger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Delish! I will probably cut down the sugar a little next time, but didn't find the sweetness offensive. I liked this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I also usedd only 1 scant tbsp sugar and don't think I'd prefer more. My eggplant wasn't that big so I wish I'd cut back on the soy sauce- itwas a little overpowering. Also I added about twice as much red pepper flakes for a little more zing. All in all a very tasty dips. Took the advice of another reviewer and baked whole wheat pita bread triangles brushed with garlic chili oil. (warning: only takes a few minutes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Twohig
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Even though I cut the soy sauce to 1 T, it still was way too salty for my taste! I also cut the sugar to 1 T, and used honey. If all I had was 1 taste, I would have been fine. This does not get better with time! I want to like it, and will work to see if I can combine the garlic and ginger flavors with just a little soy sauce to make this eggplant spread more to my liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I really liked this, nice asian flavor. It made WAY more than we could eat at our party. I wonder if it would freeze okay?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States