Strange Flavor Eggplant Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I like eggplant but I did not like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This recipe was very easy and very good. I added a bit more garlic. Next time I think I try adding some curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Yes, it's true, it's strange, but......oh so delicious! My husband just loved it. Didn't have enough eggplant, but had some commercial eggplant spread that really didn't have much flavor, so I added it also added some additional "hots". Will diffinitly try it again Thanks Laura
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I didn't find this to have a strange taste at all! I liked it, it does seem to be missing something though..not sure what. Maybe the flavours need to meld a bit before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
LEAVE OUT THE BROWN SUGAR!! When I copied down the recipe, I forgot the brown sugar, and it came out wonderfully. The second time I made it, I did put in the brown sugar and did not like it as much. My friends and husband didn't like it sweetened either. But without the sugar it is fabulous and chic! A really nice, flavorful, asian-inspired dip that will really impress everyone, even people who are not into eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladychroe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Yummy! I subbed Hoisin Sauce for the brown sugar and Umaboshi plum vinegar for the rice wine vinegar. I added more garlic, ginger and garnished the dip with chopped cilantro. Instead of bread I used those evil fried noodles they serve with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was very tasty! Like other reviewers, I was going to cut out the sugar, but still used 1/2 tablespoon because I splashed in a bit too much vinegar. I spread this on pita flat bread, and topped with feta, chopped tomatoes, and cilantro. My friend added a little extra salt and pepper and crushed black olives. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Yum, my family and friends love it! Perfect for vegetarians & vegans as well. I make it with "sesame sippits." Which are a combination of serian bread cut into strips brushed with oil, salt, pepper, and minced garlic, and cooked at 375 until crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eknights

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookline, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Delish! I will probably cut down the sugar a little next time, but didn't find the sweetness offensive. I liked this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I also usedd only 1 scant tbsp sugar and don't think I'd prefer more. My eggplant wasn't that big so I wish I'd cut back on the soy sauce- itwas a little overpowering. Also I added about twice as much red pepper flakes for a little more zing. All in all a very tasty dips. Took the advice of another reviewer and baked whole wheat pita bread triangles brushed with garlic chili oil. (warning: only takes a few minutes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States