Strange But True Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
This was pretty good, though not something I'll make very often. That amount of pepper made this dish very spicy, so next time I'll probably only put in a 1/2 tablespoon in (instead of 2). The kids didn't like this one very much, but that was probably due to the black pepper and green bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I never thought I'd try a recipe with the word "strange" in it, which this combination certainly seems, but it was VERY tasty! My store was out of spaghetti with meat sauce so I used lasagna with meat sauce instead. I think I'll stick with that because that shape of pasta is easier to eat anyway. Leftovers are yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
It is strange but pretty good. This is not a gourmet meal but it is hearty and filling. I too used lasagna noodles w/ meat sauce instead of spaghetti, added some minced garlic while sauting the onions, no pepper, and only about 3/4 of the bread crumbs (next time I'll use only 1/2c). I wouldn't make this very often but would make again when in a time crunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
I thought this was pretty spicy, even though I cut the pepper back by more than half. My 21 month loved it, he had seconds! As for my daughter & husband they each took one bite & asked me not to fix it anymore. I thought it wasn't bad, I may make it again, when my husbands' out of town!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blonde farm girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
This this recipe was just OK. I can say this much I won't be making it again. I think it's just a perception of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This is a great recipe! My kids and family loved it! I substituted shredded cheese on the top for the bread crumbs and it made the dish very cheesy and creamy from the soup! It was great! I also cut down on the pepper so it wouldn't be too spicy for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Had lots of leftover spaghetti with sauce that I needed to recreate. Family was happy to have it in a different form, but overall not the most exciting dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
"Strange but true" is right on the mark with this unique twist on a casserole. My family enjoyed it. I plan on taking the leftovers and adding it to a pie crust, bake, and make a nice brunch pie. I would make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. Followed it exactly and it was dry and too spicy. Will NOT be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this for friends that visited for the weekend. I made some substitutions. I used 1.5 cloves of chopped garlic instead of minced, and used bow tie noodles (1.5-2.5 cups) and some spaghetti sauce (26 ounces) that I had in the cupboard instead. I also used stove top stuffing crumbs because it is also something easier to have on hand or buy individual serving for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States