Strachan Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
My Grandmother has been making this salad for Thanksgiving for as long as I can remember. Everyone loves it! We affectionately refer to it as "Orange Stuff."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BridgesGirl4165

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
My boyfriend and I loved this recipe! It wasn't as thick as I was hoping for it to be so the next time I make it I'll double the cottage cheese. Great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is a very good recipe that has been on here for many years with few reviews. Not sure how I found this recipe with the title of it, but I am glad I did. I took this salad to a ladies dinner at church and came home with an empty bowl. I also made some in jell-o molds for my family. I used all the ingredients, but halved the maraschino cherry amount. Make sure you drain your fruit really well. I did not cut the mandarin oranges in half, they broke up nicely when I folded in the whipped topping. You could easily change up the jell-o flavor in this salad. Thanks bestrachan for sharing your Thanksgiving salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
One of DH's favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I loved this receipe. I made it for the family Christmas dinner without trying it first but it was wonderful. I read the prior reviews about the mandarin oranges making it a little juicy. Instead of adding another container of cottage cheese as some of the other reviewers did, I added thickness by throwing in 1 1/2 cups of mini marshmallows. It was a hit. NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
We grew up eating Jello Salad, and this is a great recipe. The only negative is that anytime Mandarin oranges are used, the salad gets watery. Other than that, there is a lot of flavor and textures in this salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
this recipe has been a very popular one in my family for years, however we like it with a little more texture, so we double the cottage cheese. pretty darn close to perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjnauert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I usually leave out the maraschino cherries and nuts when I make this and it's always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
To cut the sweetness of this salad, I usually leave out cherries and nuts, add 2t lemon juice and add finely chopped celery.The flavor is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
My daughters loved this and took half the leftovers of it from Thanksgiving. I bought a 6 oz. package of Orange Jello and used probably 4 oz. of it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States