Strachan Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I loved this receipe. I made it for the family Christmas dinner without trying it first but it was wonderful. I read the prior reviews about the mandarin oranges making it a little juicy. Instead of adding another container of cottage cheese as some of the other reviewers did, I added thickness by throwing in 1 1/2 cups of mini marshmallows. It was a hit. NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is a very good recipe that has been on here for many years with few reviews. Not sure how I found this recipe with the title of it, but I am glad I did. I took this salad to a ladies dinner at church and came home with an empty bowl. I also made some in jell-o molds for my family. I used all the ingredients, but halved the maraschino cherry amount. Make sure you drain your fruit really well. I did not cut the mandarin oranges in half, they broke up nicely when I folded in the whipped topping. You could easily change up the jell-o flavor in this salad. Thanks bestrachan for sharing your Thanksgiving salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
We grew up eating Jello Salad, and this is a great recipe. The only negative is that anytime Mandarin oranges are used, the salad gets watery. Other than that, there is a lot of flavor and textures in this salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
My Grandmother has been making this salad for Thanksgiving for as long as I can remember. Everyone loves it! We affectionately refer to it as "Orange Stuff."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BridgesGirl4165

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
My daughters loved this and took half the leftovers of it from Thanksgiving. I bought a 6 oz. package of Orange Jello and used probably 4 oz. of it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
My boyfriend and I loved this recipe! It wasn't as thick as I was hoping for it to be so the next time I make it I'll double the cottage cheese. Great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
To cut the sweetness of this salad, I usually leave out cherries and nuts, add 2t lemon juice and add finely chopped celery.The flavor is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I usually leave out the maraschino cherries and nuts when I make this and it's always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
this recipe has been a very popular one in my family for years, however we like it with a little more texture, so we double the cottage cheese. pretty darn close to perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjnauert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
One of DH's favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States