Stracciatella I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I really enjoyed this soup. Very simple to prepare. I followed all of the directions except I used farfalle b/c it was the pasta I had on hand. I broke it into smaller pieces, it worked perfectly. I also added a little squeeze of lemon as I was eating it. The cheese and the broth are salty so next time I will go with a lower sodium broth. Thanks for sharing this great and easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
What a great, easy, nourishing soup! I followed the recipe exactly except used orzo instead of ditalini and parm instead of romano. I can only imagine how much better it would be with homemade chicken stock. And I think some minced scallions or chives would be a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very good! Quick and easy soup .Kids loved it. Next time I will add vegetables like peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is one of my favorite soups that my grandmother used to make all the time. I took her variations on it though: I omitted the pasta, and I added spinach, carrots and peas. It is a pretty incredible soup and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
omg.. i just got my wisdom teeth taken out and I needed a good simple soup. Decided to try this one...it was just what i needed...so good! I didnt have ditalini pasta on hand so I used vermicelli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maribel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
What a quick, great tasting soup! Normally I do not care for parsley, but I found that it tasted great in this soup. Wonderful recipe, I didn't modify a thing. Ginny, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I love stracciatella - and this is fairly close to what I am used to making. Instead of adding pasta, however, we usually add around 3 or 4 eggs and - this sounds wierd, but - spinach! Once the spinach has wilted in the soup, I add the cheese, and I usually add a generous handful of romano and a dash of salt and pepper. With these changes not only do you have an extremely healthy soup, you have a delicious one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This recipe was DELISH! I was in the mood to make some soup during the cold weather, but I wanted something simple too. I didn't have Romano, so I substituted the Parmesan I had. And I omitted the nutmeg because I didn't have it either. I added fresh black peppercorn because I love pepper, and it tasted great... thanks for such an easy and simple recipe. This will definitely be something I make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is so delicious! I love soup and wanted something different so, when I found this I couldn't wait to try it and I'm glad I did. It uses things already in your fridge. I changed it a little though; I didn't use the cheese because of allergies, I used Pesto Seasoning in place of the fresh parsley and I added fresh peppercorn too. This will definitely be a staple in my house from now on. Thanks so much Ginny! Update: I made this again tonight w/beef broth and soy sauce. Still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
My entire family loved this soup! It's easy to make with only seven ingredients. I made several servings, but it all disappeared in a day. I did substitute many of the ingredients, but it turned out great anyway. My substitutions were: Angel hair pasta instead of ditalini Swiss cheese for Romano Dried parsley instead of fresh When I stirred in the grated Swiss cheese, it melted in the water and the angel hair pasta started sticking to it. It was wonderful nonetheless when I felt like soup and found lots of eggs in the fridge. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States