Stracciatella I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I really enjoyed this soup. Very simple to prepare. I followed all of the directions except I used farfalle b/c it was the pasta I had on hand. I broke it into smaller pieces, it worked perfectly. I also added a little squeeze of lemon as I was eating it. The cheese and the broth are salty so next time I will go with a lower sodium broth. Thanks for sharing this great and easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
What a great, easy, nourishing soup! I followed the recipe exactly except used orzo instead of ditalini and parm instead of romano. I can only imagine how much better it would be with homemade chicken stock. And I think some minced scallions or chives would be a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very good! Quick and easy soup .Kids loved it. Next time I will add vegetables like peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is one of my favorite soups that my grandmother used to make all the time. I took her variations on it though: I omitted the pasta, and I added spinach, carrots and peas. It is a pretty incredible soup and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
omg.. i just got my wisdom teeth taken out and I needed a good simple soup. Decided to try this one...it was just what i needed...so good! I didnt have ditalini pasta on hand so I used vermicelli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maribel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
What a quick, great tasting soup! Normally I do not care for parsley, but I found that it tasted great in this soup. Wonderful recipe, I didn't modify a thing. Ginny, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I love stracciatella - and this is fairly close to what I am used to making. Instead of adding pasta, however, we usually add around 3 or 4 eggs and - this sounds wierd, but - spinach! Once the spinach has wilted in the soup, I add the cheese, and I usually add a generous handful of romano and a dash of salt and pepper. With these changes not only do you have an extremely healthy soup, you have a delicious one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This recipe was DELISH! I was in the mood to make some soup during the cold weather, but I wanted something simple too. I didn't have Romano, so I substituted the Parmesan I had. And I omitted the nutmeg because I didn't have it either. I added fresh black peppercorn because I love pepper, and it tasted great... thanks for such an easy and simple recipe. This will definitely be something I make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is so delicious! I love soup and wanted something different so, when I found this I couldn't wait to try it and I'm glad I did. It uses things already in your fridge. I changed it a little though; I didn't use the cheese because of allergies, I used Pesto Seasoning in place of the fresh parsley and I added fresh peppercorn too. This will definitely be a staple in my house from now on. Thanks so much Ginny! Update: I made this again tonight w/beef broth and soy sauce. Still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Safford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
My entire family loved this soup! It's easy to make with only seven ingredients. I made several servings, but it all disappeared in a day. I did substitute many of the ingredients, but it turned out great anyway. My substitutions were: Angel hair pasta instead of ditalini Swiss cheese for Romano Dried parsley instead of fresh When I stirred in the grated Swiss cheese, it melted in the water and the angel hair pasta started sticking to it. It was wonderful nonetheless when I felt like soup and found lots of eggs in the fridge. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Pasta e Fagioli I

Watch how to make this savory Italian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States