Straccetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Great dish! A little bland. But I agree red wine instead of white would help with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
My version of this recipe tasted pretty good, the only reason its not a 5* is because I changed quite a few things in it. First I used red wine instead of white and only used half the amount. I also added more worcestershire sauce and omitted the tomatoes. I chopped the meat into cubes rather than strips and I used button mushrooms instead of the other ones. With all these changes it was a pretty good recipe which I'll willingly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I am surprised I haven't rated this yet, as I've been making this dish for a year or two now. I always enjoy it, and have only had to make a few minor changes. First, I use just regular button mushrooms. I also add about a tablespoon of dijon mustard and a dash of worcestershire to the main sauce part just to give it a little more zing. I usually omit the tomatoes. I like my tomatoes raw or fully cooked, but not warmed. :) Other than that, this is a wonderfully light and flavorful dish. The meat is always very tender. Keep in mind that the sauce is going to be thin. You can thicken it with a little corn starch if you wish, but some of it is going to be absorbed when you add the pasta anyway. Great with a salad and some soft honey wheat rolls for sopping up the broth. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Excellent dish! My girlfriend and I loved the intense flavors and were suprised how light this meal is. Instead of white wine, I used red wine to bring out the flavors of the steak. Also I added corn starch to thicken up the sauce and added more tomatos in the sauce. Serve this dish with the same red wine for marinating the steaks. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Thought this would be much better than it turned out to be. Lots of great ingrediants, not much flavor. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I've been making this recipe for about five years now- it's one of our favorites. The sauce is thin- and is absorbed wonderfully into fresh pasta. It's a light dish, so if you're looking for a heavy, saucy pasta dish this isn't what you're looking for! The flavors are so complimentary - it's just delicious! I always use button mushrooms (cheaper) and have used both red and white wine- both are marvelous. Always add garlic, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
My family and I liked this recipe, although I altered it a little. I had burgandy wine on hand, so I used it instead of the white. I also thickened the sauce using a mixture of cornstarch and water. (just making it a little thinner than pancake batter) I added the cornstarch mixture to the rapidly boiling sauce, constantly stirring.I let it cook until it was thickened, and then added the tomatoes for just a few min. Pretty good. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Rochester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I enjoyed this recipe very much. I did add a tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken the sauce, as others have mentioned, and despite it not doing much to effect the thickness, I don't think that it was necessary. The sauce was thin, but it's a Northern Italian recipe and there is so much else going on in it that it doesn't detract from the flavor. I suggest serving it in one bowl, so the noodles can absorb some of the sauce before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This recipe was great. I took the leftovers to work and everyone wanted me to print out the recipe. It was great flavor without a lot of difficulty to prepare. Helpful hint- Shredded Asiago cheese made by DiGiorno can be found next to refrigerated pasta at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYLISHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Dix, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
Looking at the list of ingredients, this recipe sounded wonderful. Unfortunately, it didn't come together too well. It was very bland considering all the mouth-watering ingredients. The grated cheese was the only good thing. It was also very runny, and that's even after I didn't use the cup of white wine at the end in an effort to make it less runny after hearing this complaint in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States