Straccetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Really good. Made as per the recipe except added in a few shredded carrots.. the asiago and beef combo was stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
excellent... thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Don't be fooled by the 4out of 5 stars....It is indeed very bland and the sauce is way too thin to stick to noodles...which makes it even more bland. Also adding the meat to the sauce (boiling it) makes it rubbery. Don't waste your flank on this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Edible, but won't make again. Followed the recipe almost exactly (omitted the tomatoes, added a shallot and a few more spices at the end). Very one-dimensional in flavor. The wine is overpowering in the meat; perhaps rubbing it with a mixture of the mustard, W. sauce, Italian seasoning, and lemon juice would have been better as a marinade. I found myself scrambling at the end to add some seasonings to save the dish from complete boredom. Luckily, the Asiago helped a lot, but the recipe shouldn't have relied on the cheese to "make" it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I thought this was very good. My hubby loved it. I made a few changes. I used 1/2c white wine, 1/2c red wine vinegar in the marinade. Along with Garlic. When cooking the meat, I added 1/2c white wine, and 1/2c of the marinade. I think that helped with the flavor. I also added a little thickening. I topped with a Italian cheese blend and mozzarella. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I served this over brown rice without cheese (or tomatoes). I also made a few adjustments for thicker sauce by halfing the beef stock and adding about some cornstarch. I added 1 tbsp each of dijon and worcestershire with the stock as well for the extra flavor, as suggested by another member. Turned out excellent!! My boyfriend loved it and it was quite flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I disagree with others that this recipe is bland -- I thought the flavor was delicious. I used sirloin instead of flank steak as it's what I had in the freezer. I didn't stray from the recipe except that I used a bit more worchestershire sauce (eyeballed it) and attempted to thicken the sauce with cornstarch. It wouldn't thicken!! I think this recipe would be far more enjoyable if the sauce weren't so...runny and soupy. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I prepared this dish on the eve of the opening of the Olympics from Torino. Everyone really liked this dish, but next time I would broil the meat a bit first, due to cutting down on fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
It was fine, however I felt it was too liquidy and lacked a bit in flavor. My husband and brother in-law liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Good hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States