Straccetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Well, I had everything on hand, so decided to make this MOST delicious dish, let me say, it was awesome!!!! Husband is picky, and he LOVED it too! I used skirt steak, also used the marinade in the sauce, and subbed broccoli for the shrooms as my husband dosen't like shrooms! I had angel hair, x-tra cheese is a must always, but we will definetly be amking this wonderful dish again & again!!!! Thanks to whomever submitted it!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
this recipe was absolutely delicious! I made it for my co-workers and it was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
The recipe tasted great, smelled great and me look like the chef I never tried to be, To add a personal flare and taste to the beef I tried a flavored liqour such as Barcardi O (citris rum) to give it a slight twang instead of the dry white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Simply amazing. This was much better than I envisioned .. usually pasta dishes have a creamy sauce .. this was delightful. I scaled it down to 2 .. still found I only needed 1/4 lb flank versus the 3/4 lb it scaled down to. I had no idea how many portobello mushrooms were required for 1 cup so I just used 2. I wish I had added 1 whole tomato (as instructed) instead of half - will do that next time. And there WILL BE a next time!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This was a great dish! My husband gave it rave reviews, it's a keeper.It was light, yet very tasty. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
I suprised my wife with dinner using this recipe. Not only did she love it, but we made if for gourmet company a few days later. They loved it so much it will be their New Year's Eve Party dinner main course. Terrific way to make pasta in a flavorful way. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I used this recipe as a base for a pasta dish. Instead of the flank steak, I cooked sweet sausage in olive oil, then tossed in mushrooms, onions, garlic then followed along. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
It takes awhile to make -- but definitely worth the effort. An excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This was absolutely wonderful. Great flavor and presentation. Will definately have this again for weekend dinners with friends. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
I thought this recipe was very easy and flavorful. I was afraid of the recipe list because I thought it would be a budget buster, but it turned out to be not so bad. I added some balsamic vinegar when I added mushrooms, which I think improves the flavor. I would definitely try to thicken the sauce next time though, perhaps with some cornstarch. I used strip steaks, I would double the amount of meat called for if you're feeding a family, but the marinade was great and the meat was tender. The whole dish was very unique and certainly worth my while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States