Straccetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2003
I thought this recipe was very easy and flavorful. I was afraid of the recipe list because I thought it would be a budget buster, but it turned out to be not so bad. I added some balsamic vinegar when I added mushrooms, which I think improves the flavor. I would definitely try to thicken the sauce next time though, perhaps with some cornstarch. I used strip steaks, I would double the amount of meat called for if you're feeding a family, but the marinade was great and the meat was tender. The whole dish was very unique and certainly worth my while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Well, I had everything on hand, so decided to make this MOST delicious dish, let me say, it was awesome!!!! Husband is picky, and he LOVED it too! I used skirt steak, also used the marinade in the sauce, and subbed broccoli for the shrooms as my husband dosen't like shrooms! I had angel hair, x-tra cheese is a must always, but we will definetly be amking this wonderful dish again & again!!!! Thanks to whomever submitted it!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
this recipe was absolutely delicious! I made it for my co-workers and it was a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
The recipe tasted great, smelled great and me look like the chef I never tried to be, To add a personal flare and taste to the beef I tried a flavored liqour such as Barcardi O (citris rum) to give it a slight twang instead of the dry white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Simply amazing. This was much better than I envisioned .. usually pasta dishes have a creamy sauce .. this was delightful. I scaled it down to 2 .. still found I only needed 1/4 lb flank versus the 3/4 lb it scaled down to. I had no idea how many portobello mushrooms were required for 1 cup so I just used 2. I wish I had added 1 whole tomato (as instructed) instead of half - will do that next time. And there WILL BE a next time!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This was a great dish! My husband gave it rave reviews, it's a keeper.It was light, yet very tasty. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
I suprised my wife with dinner using this recipe. Not only did she love it, but we made if for gourmet company a few days later. They loved it so much it will be their New Year's Eve Party dinner main course. Terrific way to make pasta in a flavorful way. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I used this recipe as a base for a pasta dish. Instead of the flank steak, I cooked sweet sausage in olive oil, then tossed in mushrooms, onions, garlic then followed along. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
It takes awhile to make -- but definitely worth the effort. An excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This was absolutely wonderful. Great flavor and presentation. Will definately have this again for weekend dinners with friends. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States