Stovetop Yankee Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I have used this many times and it is very good very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is a terriffic recipe and very easy. I've made it 4 times and perfection every time. I added a little more beef broth, just enough to cover the roast. I tried one reviewers suggestion of substituting red potatoes for the celery, result was a loss of flavor. I think it would be ok to add add potatoes if you really wanted, but the celery is needed to balance the flavor of the broth. Someone mentioned adding sugar, but I can't see that either as the carrots provide a very nice sweetness. Why try to fix something that already works?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I made a few changes, but this was wonderful! First, I seasoned the flour with salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders, parsley, and oregano prior to dredging to give the meat some more flavor. I also added some minced garlic to the oil for a few minutes before putting the meat in. Then, I doubled the amount of broth and used 48 ounces of beef gravy in place of the red wine. I also used red potatoes instead of celery. There was enough liquid in the pot to completely cover the entire meal. It simmered for 2.5 hours and it was delicious! The meat just fell apart and the potatoes and carrots had an amazing flavor! I served it with a side of fresh green beans and french bread and this meal just disappeared! This will be added to my permanent cookbook! 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This is outstanding! We loved this! My past experiences with beef, in general, have ranged from the laughable to the disasterous, but this recipe has changed all that. This is THE recipe that will benchmark my beef cookery. It was tender, flavorful, moist. I did season simply the flour with salt, pepper, garlic powder before dredging the beef; browned it in a cast iron skillet, added the wine (cabernet sauvignon), and let it simmer for maybe 10 minute or so before adding it all to my electric fry pan with the remaining ingredients. I tasted the broth, thought it lacked "a little something" and decided to add 1/2 tsp of sugar. That, for me, was the missing ingredient, and now the flavors were a melody upon the tongue, sweet, salty, tart. Linda, thank you SOOOO much for this submission. There shall be no other pot roast recipe for me. This one is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
this makes a lovely and very tasty gravy and the meat is oh so tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Meat turned out super-tender after 3 hours. Subbed potatos for celery though and it came out incredibly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Very good. Much better than the recipe I used to follow for pot roast. I add potatoes and substitute bay leaves for the allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camp Sherman, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Absolutely delicious! My husband said he enjoyed it more than the expensive standing rib roast we had the week before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This recipe is a keeper. Taste was wonderful and easy to prepare. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The meat came out perfect..so tender..i used basic recipe ,but used allspice, but not the berries. I also used only one carton of beef broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States