Stovetop Yankee Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Easiest recipe and came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Hill, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Excellent. And the leftovers & broth made a great soup after skimming off the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made a few changes to this recipe and it was superb! During the searing process, I placed the onions, garlic and a tablespoon of gravy master underneath the roast and then seared all sides. I substituted 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar (which acts as a natural meat tenderizer) during the searing process, for the wine and excluded the berries. Also, I added the fresh vegetables (baby carrots, sugar snap peas and new potatoes) about an hour before serving- anything earlier and they turned too mushy for my taste. I added fresh mushrooms to the mix and I used olive oil because it is the healthiest of all the oils. Very good I gave this 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Fantastic. First Yankee Pot Roast I have ever made and it came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
The best pot roast I've ever made! I used red potatoes instead of celery and doubled the carrots (and added them during the last 45 minutes). The suggestions to season the beef before browning and adding a little sugar to the broth were helpful. Used a flour roux instead of cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
excellent... added potatoes as well... gravy was wonderful with a nice red wine flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I thought this was great! Much faster than putting it in a crockpot and just as tasty. I added bay leaves and dried onion flakes and I didn't add the veggies until the last 45min of cooking time - I thought they would be mush after a couple hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I really didn't enjoy the flavor of this. My husband thought it was ok, but not great (and he's not that picky). Probably just a matter of taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Crum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The meat came out perfect..so tender..i used basic recipe ,but used allspice, but not the berries. I also used only one carton of beef broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This recipe is a keeper. Taste was wonderful and easy to prepare. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States