Stovetop Yankee Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This is the first time in my entire cooking life that I have made a pot roast that wasn't dry! This recipe is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Tried this method of cooking a pot roast, as I didn't have the time for the slow cooker. The roast was so tender and had tons of flavor. The only thing I did different was I did not add potatoes, we like mashed potatoes with our roast. This is really a good recipe and I plan to use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very bland, even with adjustments suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is sooo good! Didn't change a thing! Everyone loved it...the recipe doesn't mention to salt and pepper the meat before dredging...so make sure to do that. I did change the order of cooking. Sear meat then take out of the pot...then carmalize the onions and garlic in the remaining oil add the celery to the last couple of minutes of carmalizing, add wine to deglaze the pan, add back the meat, add the carrots and broth, cover and enjoy. I made a 3# English roast and forgot about it...so cooked for four hours on accident...still very tender and juicy. this is my go to pot roast recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made it as listed but without the allspice berries because I couldn't find mine. Even without them, it was quick to throw together, easy, and delicious. The gravy was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Eliminate the allspice and add 3 bayleafs, some canned tomatoes and a tablespoon of paprika for that traditional North Eastern dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I normally like pot roast cooked in a pressure cooker. Decided to give this a try and was very pleasantly surprised. Roast was very flavorful and the gravy was outstanding, the only downside for me... the vegetables were a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parshall, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly how it's listed and this is DEFINITELY going in my recipe box. It was the first time I ever made pot roast and hubby loved it!! The only thing I'd change is that I removed the meat when I added the veggies just to saute them some. Then, put the meat back in and continued on. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
not enough flavor at all for our liking....soooo boring even for a pot roast, what was i thinking?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was very good. Did not have whole allspice berries so substituted a teaspoon of ground allspice and used a red cooking wine ... very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States