Stovetop Yankee Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Tried this method of cooking a pot roast, as I didn't have the time for the slow cooker. The roast was so tender and had tons of flavor. The only thing I did different was I did not add potatoes, we like mashed potatoes with our roast. This is really a good recipe and I plan to use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very bland, even with adjustments suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenner, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is sooo good! Didn't change a thing! Everyone loved it...the recipe doesn't mention to salt and pepper the meat before dredging...so make sure to do that. I did change the order of cooking. Sear meat then take out of the pot...then carmalize the onions and garlic in the remaining oil add the celery to the last couple of minutes of carmalizing, add wine to deglaze the pan, add back the meat, add the carrots and broth, cover and enjoy. I made a 3# English roast and forgot about it...so cooked for four hours on accident...still very tender and juicy. this is my go to pot roast recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made it as listed but without the allspice berries because I couldn't find mine. Even without them, it was quick to throw together, easy, and delicious. The gravy was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Eliminate the allspice and add 3 bayleafs, some canned tomatoes and a tablespoon of paprika for that traditional North Eastern dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I normally like pot roast cooked in a pressure cooker. Decided to give this a try and was very pleasantly surprised. Roast was very flavorful and the gravy was outstanding, the only downside for me... the vegetables were a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parshall, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly how it's listed and this is DEFINITELY going in my recipe box. It was the first time I ever made pot roast and hubby loved it!! The only thing I'd change is that I removed the meat when I added the veggies just to saute them some. Then, put the meat back in and continued on. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
not enough flavor at all for our liking....soooo boring even for a pot roast, what was i thinking?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was very good. Did not have whole allspice berries so substituted a teaspoon of ground allspice and used a red cooking wine ... very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Very yummy! We used Clos du Bois Cabernet Sauvignon for the red wine, and it tasted fantastic. The only problem was the cooking time. I used a thermometer to check the temp and it read 153. I thought it'd gotten to the center of the roast, but when we went to cut it (after the 10 min resting period) it was bloody and pink in the middle! OOPS. I drained out about 1/3 of the broth, cut the roast into smaller chunks, and put it back into the pot on medium heat for 20 minutes-- 10 with the lid on, and 10 with the lid off, stirring occasionally. Being a newbie at cooking, I also wasn't sure what to do with the veggies and broth when it came time to make the gravy. I used a slotted spoon to remove the carrots and much of the onion and celery, but a bunch of the onion and celery stayed in the pot. I drained off most of the liquid into a big bowl (to save for soup later in the week) and tried thickening the rest with corn starch. It didn't quite get as thick as I'd hoped, but it was still very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateshort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States