Stovetop Yankee Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I made a few changes, but this was wonderful! First, I seasoned the flour with salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders, parsley, and oregano prior to dredging to give the meat some more flavor. I also added some minced garlic to the oil for a few minutes before putting the meat in. Then, I doubled the amount of broth and used 48 ounces of beef gravy in place of the red wine. I also used red potatoes instead of celery. There was enough liquid in the pot to completely cover the entire meal. It simmered for 2.5 hours and it was delicious! The meat just fell apart and the potatoes and carrots had an amazing flavor! I served it with a side of fresh green beans and french bread and this meal just disappeared! This will be added to my permanent cookbook! 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made a few changes to this recipe and it was superb! During the searing process, I placed the onions, garlic and a tablespoon of gravy master underneath the roast and then seared all sides. I substituted 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar (which acts as a natural meat tenderizer) during the searing process, for the wine and excluded the berries. Also, I added the fresh vegetables (baby carrots, sugar snap peas and new potatoes) about an hour before serving- anything earlier and they turned too mushy for my taste. I added fresh mushrooms to the mix and I used olive oil because it is the healthiest of all the oils. Very good I gave this 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This is outstanding! We loved this! My past experiences with beef, in general, have ranged from the laughable to the disasterous, but this recipe has changed all that. This is THE recipe that will benchmark my beef cookery. It was tender, flavorful, moist. I did season simply the flour with salt, pepper, garlic powder before dredging the beef; browned it in a cast iron skillet, added the wine (cabernet sauvignon), and let it simmer for maybe 10 minute or so before adding it all to my electric fry pan with the remaining ingredients. I tasted the broth, thought it lacked "a little something" and decided to add 1/2 tsp of sugar. That, for me, was the missing ingredient, and now the flavors were a melody upon the tongue, sweet, salty, tart. Linda, thank you SOOOO much for this submission. There shall be no other pot roast recipe for me. This one is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Meat turned out super-tender after 3 hours. Subbed potatos for celery though and it came out incredibly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I thought this was great! Much faster than putting it in a crockpot and just as tasty. I added bay leaves and dried onion flakes and I didn't add the veggies until the last 45min of cooking time - I thought they would be mush after a couple hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
The best pot roast I've ever made! I used red potatoes instead of celery and doubled the carrots (and added them during the last 45 minutes). The suggestions to season the beef before browning and adding a little sugar to the broth were helpful. Used a flour roux instead of cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Very good. Much better than the recipe I used to follow for pot roast. I add potatoes and substitute bay leaves for the allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camp Sherman, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was very good. Did not have whole allspice berries so substituted a teaspoon of ground allspice and used a red cooking wine ... very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The meat came out perfect..so tender..i used basic recipe ,but used allspice, but not the berries. I also used only one carton of beef broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly how it's listed and this is DEFINITELY going in my recipe box. It was the first time I ever made pot roast and hubby loved it!! The only thing I'd change is that I removed the meat when I added the veggies just to saute them some. Then, put the meat back in and continued on. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States