Stovetop Yankee Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Easiest recipe and came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Hill, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Excellent. And the leftovers & broth made a great soup after skimming off the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made a few changes to this recipe and it was superb! During the searing process, I placed the onions, garlic and a tablespoon of gravy master underneath the roast and then seared all sides. I substituted 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar (which acts as a natural meat tenderizer) during the searing process, for the wine and excluded the berries. Also, I added the fresh vegetables (baby carrots, sugar snap peas and new potatoes) about an hour before serving- anything earlier and they turned too mushy for my taste. I added fresh mushrooms to the mix and I used olive oil because it is the healthiest of all the oils. Very good I gave this 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Fantastic. First Yankee Pot Roast I have ever made and it came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
The best pot roast I've ever made! I used red potatoes instead of celery and doubled the carrots (and added them during the last 45 minutes). The suggestions to season the beef before browning and adding a little sugar to the broth were helpful. Used a flour roux instead of cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
excellent... added potatoes as well... gravy was wonderful with a nice red wine flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I thought this was great! Much faster than putting it in a crockpot and just as tasty. I added bay leaves and dried onion flakes and I didn't add the veggies until the last 45min of cooking time - I thought they would be mush after a couple hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I really didn't enjoy the flavor of this. My husband thought it was ok, but not great (and he's not that picky). Probably just a matter of taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Crum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The meat came out perfect..so tender..i used basic recipe ,but used allspice, but not the berries. I also used only one carton of beef broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This recipe is a keeper. Taste was wonderful and easy to prepare. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States