Stovetop Yankee Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Very yummy! We used Clos du Bois Cabernet Sauvignon for the red wine, and it tasted fantastic. The only problem was the cooking time. I used a thermometer to check the temp and it read 153. I thought it'd gotten to the center of the roast, but when we went to cut it (after the 10 min resting period) it was bloody and pink in the middle! OOPS. I drained out about 1/3 of the broth, cut the roast into smaller chunks, and put it back into the pot on medium heat for 20 minutes-- 10 with the lid on, and 10 with the lid off, stirring occasionally. Being a newbie at cooking, I also wasn't sure what to do with the veggies and broth when it came time to make the gravy. I used a slotted spoon to remove the carrots and much of the onion and celery, but a bunch of the onion and celery stayed in the pot. I drained off most of the liquid into a big bowl (to save for soup later in the week) and tried thickening the rest with corn starch. It didn't quite get as thick as I'd hoped, but it was still very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateshort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was a good pot roast, I only wish I had followed the recipe more! I ran out of broth, so I substituted the balance with water and onion soup mix. I think the onion soup mix may have been a bit too overpowering to the general taste of the meal. It was good, just not as great as I thought it would be. Most likely, however, due to my modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
The meat had no flavor. Won't be makin it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I enjoyed the flavour the allspice gave to the gravy, I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is a fav of my husbands at a local resturant...He was skeptical of making it at home, but once he tried it, he said this recipe was better then the restaurant version. He told me to definately put this in the "keeper" recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Its really just like Moms! I double this and my boys feast for a few days. It makes a great cold cut game day sandwhich too! Toasted bagels and a slice of onion ~ dab of mayonaise! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Fantastic pot roast. It can also be made in slow cooker for ease of preparation. Red wine can be replaced by pure organic apple juice or cider if desired. I like to cook mashed potatoes separated so clear broth isn't cloudy. Great however it's made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
this makes a lovely and very tasty gravy and the meat is oh so tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is a terriffic recipe and very easy. I've made it 4 times and perfection every time. I added a little more beef broth, just enough to cover the roast. I tried one reviewers suggestion of substituting red potatoes for the celery, result was a loss of flavor. I think it would be ok to add add potatoes if you really wanted, but the celery is needed to balance the flavor of the broth. Someone mentioned adding sugar, but I can't see that either as the carrots provide a very nice sweetness. Why try to fix something that already works?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I have used this many times and it is very good very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States