Stovetop Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Wonderful quick, easy and delicious. Perfect on top of yogurt, pudding, cold cereal or just by the handful! I too brown in the oven for a few minutes, not too long as the almonds will burn and affect the taste of granola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSCONNIEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I just loved this recipe, and it was so easy to make. The only changes I made were I added pecans instead of almonds and coconut instead of cranberries. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
We love homemade granola. This didn't last long in my house, so I made another batch the next day. This time, I looked at other's suggestions and tried some wheat germ and semi-sweet chocolate chips. This one was gobbled up immediately also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
easy. i did what another reviewer suggested: carefully broil 2 c oats, melt 2 T butter, 2 T brown sugar, 1 T honey, 1/2 t vanilla, dash of salt in saucepan over medium heat. add oats, 1/2 c almonds, some flax seed and heat for 4 mins. add 1/2 c cranberries for another minute. spray cookie sheet with pam, put in warm oven with broiler off for 30-60 mins to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
this is a wonderful recipe! My family will grab a chunk of this Granola over a cookie =) Make sure you continue to cook it long enough after adding the oat mixture to the cooked sugars. this will ensure that the sugar mixture "candies" enough to make the oats crunchy as opposed to a gooey mess. =) (my sister adds that it's ALSO wonderful with Milk on top for breakfast ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederic, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My family loves this recipe. We use the base mixture than also add flax, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, crasins, Whatever nuts we have in our cupboard, and etc. It is addicting. Great for snacking or for cereal. You can't buy cereal this tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Simple recipe however watch cooking time after adding oats as this will "catch on" and burn easily. Do try again ...Your second batch will be better than your first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I have never made granola before, so I thought I would start with an easy recipe. I wanted to try something "healthy" tonight, so I used whipped butter instead of the stick. As it has 1/2 the fat & saturated fat. I found that at the first full 5 minutes it started to burn bits of the oatmeal, so it really has to be monitored. The brown sugar mixture cooked very quick to, and by the time I added the oatmeal back I could only cook it about 1 minute to avoid it from burning. I poured it onto a parchment paper lined sheet. I decided to not add the nuts and I do not like dried cranberries. However, the granola mix tasted just like a chewy granola bar exploded, and it was delicious! If I made again I would make less as I prefer it chewy. It does turn to the harder cereal type as it cools. This would be perfect for someone who buys a lot of boxed granola cereal. I did try it though next day with some Greek vanilla yogurt and it went together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Good idea, but way too sweet, even after I cut the butter and sugar by half and added another cup of oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Very good and easy. I quadrupled the recipe for a huge Christmas breakfast to go on yogurt parfaits. It was delicious. My hubby said it was better than anything he's had out of a box! A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States