Stovetop Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I have never made granola before, so I thought I would start with an easy recipe. I wanted to try something "healthy" tonight, so I used whipped butter instead of the stick. As it has 1/2 the fat & saturated fat. I found that at the first full 5 minutes it started to burn bits of the oatmeal, so it really has to be monitored. The brown sugar mixture cooked very quick to, and by the time I added the oatmeal back I could only cook it about 1 minute to avoid it from burning. I poured it onto a parchment paper lined sheet. I decided to not add the nuts and I do not like dried cranberries. However, the granola mix tasted just like a chewy granola bar exploded, and it was delicious! If I made again I would make less as I prefer it chewy. It does turn to the harder cereal type as it cools. This would be perfect for someone who buys a lot of boxed granola cereal. I did try it though next day with some Greek vanilla yogurt and it went together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Good idea, but way too sweet, even after I cut the butter and sugar by half and added another cup of oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Very good and easy. I quadrupled the recipe for a huge Christmas breakfast to go on yogurt parfaits. It was delicious. My hubby said it was better than anything he's had out of a box! A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My first attempt at granola, this recipe was easy and quick. I added pecans as well as almonds. Also increased it to make 16 servings to give as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
cook for less time, added cinnamon at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Love this recipe! My husband and I eat this all the time! I did add 1 more cup of oats but other than that everything the same. I also added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
ao good! I made this & gave some to my almost-3-year-old daughter in a bag as a snack. After about 10 seconds of monching on it she says "Mommy, it's not a snack, it's a treat"! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Rund

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
If I could give this recipes more than 5 stars I would. I made as written, except for adding dried fuit and almonds in last 2 minutes of final cooking phase. The consistency, texture, and taste were EXACTLY what I expected. I loved that it is stove top and no-bake. Very easy to throw together in the morning for quick breakfast. Serve over yogurt and garnish with fresh fruit for a light and flavorful parfait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad2twins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is a great granola recipe. It is hard to find granola recipes that do not have peanut butter in them..and this one does not. i needed a granola to take to my daughters preschool for snack...and i just omitted the almonds. i did add some vanilla flavoring and some cinnamon and nutmeg to the sugar mixture.....i also added a handful of coconut. as i was making the granola i preheated my oven to 400 degrees, and when the granola was all mixed i put it on parchment paper, and popped it into the oven while i was cleaning up....this made it nice and crunchy. then because of time restraints i put it in the freezer to cool. great recipe....and not to sweet at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made this recipe after a failed attempt at baking a different recipe and burning it :( I wouldn't change a thing! It was great just the way its written! Thank you for sharing and I LOVE that you just make it on the stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States