Stove Top Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This was a pretty standard recipe. It's not hearty, as far as pot roasts go. As another reviewer stated, the flavors did not meld together. The taste was standard, rather bland. I think I'll skip this one next time, but it was a meal that my family ate without complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years, the only difference is I add one packet of Onion Soup Mix after I brown the roast as I'm adding the water. You have to have this to get that roast flavor that's is so good. If I don't have that you must add beef bouillon cubes. I did add a splash of red wine today like others suggested so I can't wait to taste it tonight! I serve mine with Hawaiian butter rolls to soak up all the good broth. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is the way my mom always cooked pot roast, and the way I have always done it. I dredge the roast in flour seasoned with Zendher's All Purpose Seasoning before browning, and add beef bouillon cubes with the water. I toss in tiny pearl onions, baby red creamer potatoes, and baby carrots, for a delicious dinner that requires almost no effort but tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Great recipe to use as a guide/base. Perfect if you have never made a stove top pot roast before. As you see in the xomments there are many additiins you can make. I use demi glace, dried shitake mushroom powder from Fogwood Foods, fresh thyme, fresh basil, egyptian dried basil, vidalia onions and I roast my yukon potatoes first then add at the end. Also, i use local butter and purple moon merlot in the beginning. Killer dish no matter how you do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Worst I have ever done. Could not eat it. BAD BAD BAD. Tough, watery, awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
i cooked as the recipe stated. my roast was big so it took about 4 hours. i tasted the broth of this and ended up tweaking it before i served it. if i make this again ill use beef broth instead of water, up the garlic and use a bigger onion. it wasn't bad it just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Made this to night. Followed the recipe very close. My roast was only 2#, no parsnips, added some leftover Merlot, and a couple Tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce as mentioned by another poster. Tasted great! I made a grave with the drained liquid by adding 2cups of the juices in to the pot with 2 tablespoons of melted butter. I thickened it up with 2 tablespoons of cornstarch in 1/4 cup cold water. Brought it all to a boil stirring all the time until the gravy was thick as I like. Whole meal was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I imagined this would be a little bland so I added some gravy mix and soy sauce. It had the perfect flavor. The meat was tough though. It may have just been the cut itself. I think this was an easy recipe and will try again but get my meat from a different place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very easy, meat was so tender it could be cut with a butter knife and vegetables were soft, the timing was right. I followed the recipe as written and used water, and I thought the flavor was not as "beefy" or rich as it could be, next time I will follow review suggestions and try beef broth. My husband enjoyed his meat with a horseradish mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Never made pot roast before, and never heard of making it on the stove top. But it was great! Very nice flavor. Meat was tender, vegs were soft. I did add some beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States