Stout-Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made this for my mother-in-law this past weekend, because she loves lamb shanks . . . and Guiness. It was a tremendous hit! I served it with cheesy polenta, also from this site, and it was definitely an excellent combination. I DID, however, use my pressure cooker instead of the stovetop method, but that was only because I was shorter on time than I planned to be. I'm not a huge fan of lamb, but this was so tender and did not taste in any way gamey. It was very delicious, and I recommend it for something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Perfect in the slow cooker, ideal winter meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Made this with a home brew imperial stout. Increased the amounts of aromatics, then used a stick blender after removing the meat to puree the liquid and veggies into a wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TimDroz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great, our fav. winter meal. I use Beef shanks, chix stock, dried rosemary & thyme. I use a porter instead of a stout. All my variation are due to not having the specified ingredients in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Super savory and hearty. We loved it. I used a local brewed stout for the beer. Only things I did different was no parsley (didn't have any), I added a little bit of crushed red pepper, and I thickened the sauce a little at the end with Arrowroot. I pretty sure it would be awesome with a leg of lamb, as well. Anyhow, it was delicious. Super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben.3712

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Great recipe. I made this for Memorial Day for 8 people and the recipe worked great. Everyone devoured it and raved about how delicous it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is not only a fancy dish, but great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelcatrom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Delicious!! I highly recommend. Restaurant quality I think, with the addition of a little brown sugar to cut the bitterness of the beer. Cooking Tip: TRIM all visible excess fat from the lamb before browning. I got rid of at least 1 cup of fat that way and did not need to cool sauce to separate fat before eating! This makes for a yummy but MUCH less greasy dish. There was NO gamey flavour, just tender lamb. I also seasoned with salt & pepper before browning. We cooked up organic barley as a side dish instead of potatoes and it goes very well with this stew. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Wow! This was the best meal I've had in ages. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Cooked as directed except I can't get fresh herbs so I just sprinkled dried parsley, thyme, and rosemary in it instead. Absolutely divine. Used a home brew porter for the beer. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States