Stout-Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Great recipe. I made this for Memorial Day for 8 people and the recipe worked great. Everyone devoured it and raved about how delicous it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Wow! This was the best meal I've had in ages. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Cooked as directed except I can't get fresh herbs so I just sprinkled dried parsley, thyme, and rosemary in it instead. Absolutely divine. Used a home brew porter for the beer. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Oh. My. Goodness. This was sooo good! I used one 1.5-pound shank and used only about 8 oz of stout and about half the amount of beef broth, and I omitted the rosemary. Absolutely wonderful. I used some chocolate stout I had left over, and the flavor was great. I served it with roasted Yukon Gold potatoes. This was my first time making lamb shank, and I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Husband said it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
After simmering for the 3 hours, I removed the meat from the shank and simmered for another hour (with the shank still in the pot). I used one large lamb shank, instead of the 4 in the recipe and thought it was an adequate amount of meat, although 2 would have made it perfect. My husband said it was "pub quality", so this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erial, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Found it tasty enough but not impressed enough to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Thought it was great. I used a home brew chocolate espresso stout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
THIS IS A DELICIOUS MEAL AND HAS A VERY RICH TASTE. WE HAVE FRIENDS THAT CALL AND ASK WHEN WE ARE GOING TO HAVE THE LAMB SHANKS AGAIN, IN ORDER TO INVITE THEMSELVES TO DINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I am very disappointed to say that I hated it. I followed the recipe exactly, so I'm not sure what might have gone wrong, if anything, but it was really bad. My husband and I both stopped eating it and we threw out the leftovers. I've had lamb shank before and loved it. That was not this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States