Stout-Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Added parsnips, potatoes, and shiitake mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
So yummy. The only thing I did different was added about a teaspoon of onion powder and two bay leaves instead of one. Phenomenal dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I did not get much flavor from this, it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Delicious!! I highly recommend. Restaurant quality I think, with the addition of a little brown sugar to cut the bitterness of the beer. Cooking Tip: TRIM all visible excess fat from the lamb before browning. I got rid of at least 1 cup of fat that way and did not need to cool sauce to separate fat before eating! This makes for a yummy but MUCH less greasy dish. There was NO gamey flavour, just tender lamb. I also seasoned with salt & pepper before browning. We cooked up organic barley as a side dish instead of potatoes and it goes very well with this stew. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is not only a fancy dish, but great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelcatrom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Super savory and hearty. We loved it. I used a local brewed stout for the beer. Only things I did different was no parsley (didn't have any), I added a little bit of crushed red pepper, and I thickened the sauce a little at the end with Arrowroot. I pretty sure it would be awesome with a leg of lamb, as well. Anyhow, it was delicious. Super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben.3712

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great, our fav. winter meal. I use Beef shanks, chix stock, dried rosemary & thyme. I use a porter instead of a stout. All my variation are due to not having the specified ingredients in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Made this with a home brew imperial stout. Increased the amounts of aromatics, then used a stick blender after removing the meat to puree the liquid and veggies into a wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TimDroz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Perfect in the slow cooker, ideal winter meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I made this for my mother-in-law this past weekend, because she loves lamb shanks . . . and Guiness. It was a tremendous hit! I served it with cheesy polenta, also from this site, and it was definitely an excellent combination. I DID, however, use my pressure cooker instead of the stovetop method, but that was only because I was shorter on time than I planned to be. I'm not a huge fan of lamb, but this was so tender and did not taste in any way gamey. It was very delicious, and I recommend it for something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States