Stout-Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
We made this for our Easter dinner. It was awesome! This recipe will be a repeat in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Added parsnips, potatoes, and shiitake mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
So yummy. The only thing I did different was added about a teaspoon of onion powder and two bay leaves instead of one. Phenomenal dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I did not get much flavor from this, it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Delicious!! I highly recommend. Restaurant quality I think, with the addition of a little brown sugar to cut the bitterness of the beer. Cooking Tip: TRIM all visible excess fat from the lamb before browning. I got rid of at least 1 cup of fat that way and did not need to cool sauce to separate fat before eating! This makes for a yummy but MUCH less greasy dish. There was NO gamey flavour, just tender lamb. I also seasoned with salt & pepper before browning. We cooked up organic barley as a side dish instead of potatoes and it goes very well with this stew. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is not only a fancy dish, but great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelcatrom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Super savory and hearty. We loved it. I used a local brewed stout for the beer. Only things I did different was no parsley (didn't have any), I added a little bit of crushed red pepper, and I thickened the sauce a little at the end with Arrowroot. I pretty sure it would be awesome with a leg of lamb, as well. Anyhow, it was delicious. Super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben.3712

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great, our fav. winter meal. I use Beef shanks, chix stock, dried rosemary & thyme. I use a porter instead of a stout. All my variation are due to not having the specified ingredients in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Made this with a home brew imperial stout. Increased the amounts of aromatics, then used a stick blender after removing the meat to puree the liquid and veggies into a wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TimDroz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Perfect in the slow cooker, ideal winter meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States