Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I love this recipe. Anyway, I always roll out the dough between two sheets of wax paper, then loosen the paper on both sides before cutting the cookies out. This way, you can cut out cookies immediately without waiting for dough to get cold. We use this for our gingerbread houses, too. It's a very sturdy gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
I have tried many gingerbread boy recipes and these were so easy to prepare and had a delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
Excellent recipe. The hardest part was waiting for the dough to chill. Easy to roll out and very tasty! I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
This recipe is really great for the spur of the moment activity with kids. The kids just love getting to bake something that is good too. I loved it! But don't forget to read the recipe carefully because if not you could dissapoint many:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
My husband made the dough and said that it was very hard to mix. We left it in the fridge to bake the next day, and it rolled out beautifully! This is going to be an annual event, and we will be using the dough to make a gingerbread house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Much easier to make than my old recipe and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
These cookies are just sweet enough and have nice texture. I cut the molasses with honey for my little one. I like spice and would have doubled the ginger for myself. The consistency of the dough is what I would expect for a rolled cookie but I did use a smaller cutter than recommended to get more mileage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This cookie is absolutely wonderful!! Very soft, chewy and simple. This is a great recipe to make with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This is a really fun recipe to use and a very creative version of its bigger brother. I used this at my annual Christmas dinner and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Amazing! The best gingerbread recipe I have ever used. So easy. So yummy. Not too "gingery". Just right. The dough was so easy to use. It was not sticky like so many gingerbread recipes. This is now my "go to" recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States