Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
These were great except I added more spices to the mix since I like a very spicy cookie. I used a small gingerbread cutter and when they were cool, I spread lemon curd on one and topped with another to make a sandwich cookie. The combo of lemon and ginger was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was really easy to make, but as I used butter rather than shortening, and as the dough seemed to be a bit dry and crumbly, I added an egg yoke to be safe. They turned out lovely :) Though I think I'll add a little extra spice next time, but I think that's just my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLadle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Perfectly soft, flavorful and addictive. I had never made gingerbread before and this was easy. I took these to the office and they were gone within an hour! I added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves, allspice and some extra cinnamon for more flavor and took them out of the oven a little early to be sure they were soft. Make sure you spread them out- these expand quite a bit. I used the sugar cookie icing recipe and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These cookies were great! I was a little scared to make them, because I have never made gingerbread men before, but they tasted amazing, were not too ginger-y, and were a hit as christmas dessert. Don't be scared to try something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made gingerbread men. Dough that does not need molasses. I have substituted butter with oil and used other pudding mixes and other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe; but FYI always use the molases there is no substitute i tried karo doesnt work the same way and i only cooked for 11 min cookies stayed softer mmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent! I think the key is to under-bake them to make them soft and chewy. I made it just like the recipe called for and the only change was that I used 3 inch cookie cutters and baked for 5 minutes. I let the cookies cool on the cookie sheet. My son loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCPHILLIPS
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Did not work for me at all. Dough did not have enough moisture to form into a ball after mixing. I stopped adding flour after 3 cups cause the dough was starting to become to tough for my KitchenAid mixer. Even after chilling dough it was not able to be rolled, just crumbly. Dough taste was not what I was looking for either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFritz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very good. nice and soft. I added zero of the sugar and it is still sweet from the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These cookies did not work out for me. I tried them twice. The first time I added spice and followed the rest of the recipe exact and the dough came out crumbly so I added a bit more flour and shortening. Big mistake. Since this was my first time trying gingerbread I wasn't sure how the dough was supposed to look. It tasted good as dough but when the cookies came out they were very thick and biscuit tasting. Soft though and tasted better the next day, but not like the traditional gingerbread men I wanted. Today, I tried again, I doubled the recipe, added additional spice once again (pinch of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg) and the dough came out much darker and creamier, like a normal cookie dough. It took about 2 hours to chill and I've just rolled out the first batch and they are practically flavorless. I couldn't tell when they were done because the bellies didn't "pop back" like the recipe says they will and overcooked the first tray, so they were a little burnt and nasty. I've wasted a lot of ingredients on this recipe and will not be using it again. Hopefully the cookies will taste better tmrw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States