Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I followed the recipe exactly except that I added 1/4 teaspoon of cloves. I did find that I had to work some extra flour in when rolling them out between two sheets of waxed paper. I put parchment paper on my cookie sheet and they were simple to remove with no problems of breakage, etc. I even refrigerated half of the dough overnight and still had to add the flour. The cookies are a mild flavored soft gingerbread. They freeze well and taste just as good when they have been thawed out. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made these for stocking stuffers for my neighbors and coworkers. Tastes like something is missing. They are not totally inedible just bland. Too much work for nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I just made these cookies. I baked them at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 12 minutes, per the recipes instructions, and when they came out the bottoms were all black! The second batch I only baked for 8 minutes and they turned out fine, but I'm kind of disappointed that I wasted my ingredients on burnt cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
These baked up beautifuly!! The dough was very easy to work with! .I didnt have molasses so i tried to sub maple syrup Big.mistake on my part didnt work i will try them again following the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These turned out great. Followed recipe exactly. Made 2 HUGE gingerbread men (6-8") and about 10 small gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This recipe makes the softest gingerbread cookies I have ever made and stay soft, I added more spices because I like more spices in my recipes. This is now my go to gingerbread cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
these cookies taste like mole-asses, way to strong. was even tasted by a chef in the family who said they were way too potent. should be 1/4 cup molasses not 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
First time making this one and I followed the recipe exactly. Everyone in my family loved them! It was a fight for the last one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
SOOO YUMMY DIDNT NEED TO CHANGE A THING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was my 1st time making gingerbread men and these turned out fabulous! I didnt change a thing, but I did freeze the cookies overnite and took them out and thawed them, this made them stay chewy instead of drying out! A++ recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States