Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
At first I didn't care too much for these. But the longer they sat, the better they became! They became softer, and much move flavorful. Went from a 3* to a 5* in about 3 days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crabbcakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Severna Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Excellent gingerbread flavor and the dough is verstile. I've made gingerbread men and houses. The dough rolls out well and is easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I love this recipe! My 7yo and I have a strange tradition of making these when school ends in May and decorating them with jellybeans or M&Ms. We have done this for several years and used this recipe. Thanks for the post and the memories! I also made them for Christmas and hung them on the Christmas tree as ornaments but our Boston terrier likes them, too, and he would pull them off the tree and eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Amazing! The best gingerbread recipe I have ever used. So easy. So yummy. Not too "gingery". Just right. The dough was so easy to use. It was not sticky like so many gingerbread recipes. This is now my "go to" recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
These cookies were very good, I got a great consistency -and I doubled the recipe. I wish they had more spicy flavor so next time I will add more cloves I thimk.... The kids in my pre-school class Loved them with frosting ! A great classic recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I love this recipe. Anyway, I always roll out the dough between two sheets of wax paper, then loosen the paper on both sides before cutting the cookies out. This way, you can cut out cookies immediately without waiting for dough to get cold. We use this for our gingerbread houses, too. It's a very sturdy gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
These cookies were a big hit with my friends, they were gobbled up really quick! I was scared reading some of the reviews that they might not taste good so I added some extra ginger and some allspice. They aren't as gingery as some gingerbread cookies but they are still really good (as long as your not in some gingerbread competition). I ended up having a little less molasses than I needed (just under 3/4 cup, maybe 2 tablespoons short) so I didn't find it to have a strong molasses taste. The only thing I'd complain about was that the dough was really dry and flaky and I ended up having to throw a lot of that stuff out but that could be because I used 1 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 cups all purpose instead of entirely all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This is a really fun recipe to use and a very creative version of its bigger brother. I used this at my annual Christmas dinner and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Not impressed. Only thing I did like about this recipe is that it contains no eggs, and so would be good for my vegan friends. (I myself have no prob w/ eggs). I found the dough to be hard when chilled, too gooey when room temp. Most of all, the flavor was disappointing. So I added half again as much sugar and doubled the spices plus an extra dash of ginger, and then some allspice. I added these to the dough just before the second rollout, since the first batch was so disappointing. This DID improve the flavor somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This cookie is absolutely wonderful!! Very soft, chewy and simple. This is a great recipe to make with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States