Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
I have tried many gingerbread boy recipes and these were so easy to prepare and had a delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
Excellent recipe. The hardest part was waiting for the dough to chill. Easy to roll out and very tasty! I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
This recipe is really great for the spur of the moment activity with kids. The kids just love getting to bake something that is good too. I loved it! But don't forget to read the recipe carefully because if not you could dissapoint many:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
Dough was a little dry to work with after chilled. Kneading it in the hands warms and softens it, though it's still a bit crumbly when rolled out. Tastes great, makes nice soft cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
My husband made the dough and said that it was very hard to mix. We left it in the fridge to bake the next day, and it rolled out beautifully! This is going to be an annual event, and we will be using the dough to make a gingerbread house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
This cookie was okay, but has too much molasses for me. I didn't refrigerate the dough because it was so hard to begin with, and it rolled out just fine. This is a good recipe for kids because the dough is so tough, and easy to cut with cookies cutters. If you bake the dough a little longer than suggested it makes great ornamental cookies for the tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
The dough was very easy to work with and we enjoyed cutting them out. However, our family did not care for the taste of these cookies AT ALL! They tasted like gingerbread that we tasted at a working colonial farm one time. I think this is because the major sweetener is molassas. We ended up feeding them to the chickens. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Much easier to make than my old recipe and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
These cookies are just sweet enough and have nice texture. I cut the molasses with honey for my little one. I like spice and would have doubled the ginger for myself. The consistency of the dough is what I would expect for a rolled cookie but I did use a smaller cutter than recommended to get more mileage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
My daughter and I had a ball making gingerbread shapes! I only used 6 cups of flour and found that the dough did not need to be chilled before cutting. I doubled the recipe (not necessary!) and froze half the dough for later. The cookies baked well but lack flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States