Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I just made these cookies. I baked them at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 12 minutes, per the recipes instructions, and when they came out the bottoms were all black! The second batch I only baked for 8 minutes and they turned out fine, but I'm kind of disappointed that I wasted my ingredients on burnt cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
These baked up beautifuly!! The dough was very easy to work with! .I didnt have molasses so i tried to sub maple syrup Big.mistake on my part didnt work i will try them again following the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These turned out great. Followed recipe exactly. Made 2 HUGE gingerbread men (6-8") and about 10 small gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This recipe makes the softest gingerbread cookies I have ever made and stay soft, I added more spices because I like more spices in my recipes. This is now my go to gingerbread cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
these cookies taste like mole-asses, way to strong. was even tasted by a chef in the family who said they were way too potent. should be 1/4 cup molasses not 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
First time making this one and I followed the recipe exactly. Everyone in my family loved them! It was a fight for the last one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
SOOO YUMMY DIDNT NEED TO CHANGE A THING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was my 1st time making gingerbread men and these turned out fabulous! I didnt change a thing, but I did freeze the cookies overnite and took them out and thawed them, this made them stay chewy instead of drying out! A++ recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
hmmm...not so sure what to say about these. i can't tell for sure if it's the recipe, or if we are just not gingerbread likers in thishouse. as another reviewer suggested, i cut some of the molasses with honey when i realized mid-pour that i wasn't going to have enough to fill the measuring cup, so perhaps that contributed to it, but these weren't so stellar. they were fun to decorate and easy to roll out, but if i'm honest at least half of the batch went into the trash about 2 weeks later :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Followed directions as written except I used butter instead of shortening and doubled the spices and added some nutmeg and cloves. I took the advice of many on here and rolled it between parchment paper, but still had trouble keeping the cut out shapes intact. My husband happened to walk by and suggested that i roll the dough in batches, keeping the rest in the fridge, and then take the rolled piece and put back in the fridge for a few minutes. It worked like a charm! I was able to cut and place on a "pam" sprayed cookie sheet without any trouble at all. The cookies are the perfect texture and yummy, though I taste more molasses than spice, even though I increased the spices. Next time I will increase the spices more, but otherwise, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States