Storybook Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I love this recipe. Anyway, I always roll out the dough between two sheets of wax paper, then loosen the paper on both sides before cutting the cookies out. This way, you can cut out cookies immediately without waiting for dough to get cold. We use this for our gingerbread houses, too. It's a very sturdy gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I'm really surprised on the reviews on this one! I've never made Gingerbread but the kids wanted too. I just took out of the oven a few minutes ago decorated one, ate it and they are awesome!!! I followed the recipe except I used butter flavored crisco for the shortning (its what I had) and added a pinch of nutmeg and cloves plus a little more cinnamon. Rolled between wax paper and the rolled great, cut great and came right off the pam sprayed cookie sheet just perfect! They are not real spicey which I like better and when the kids wake up from a nap they are going to decorate! I think these are a must try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Never having made gingerbread before, I figured that I'd try one out. As another reviewer pointed out, the hardest part was waiting until the dough chilled. I had also doubled the recipe, but was surprised at all the negative reviews. I did add slightly more ginger than the recipe suggested (1/8 tsp), but the taste was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Excellent recipe. Using my "KitchenAid" made this a breeze. I blended the shortening and brown sugar for a full five minutes, till almost fluffy, and gradually added the molasses and water. Using a sifter, mix all the flour, baking soda, and spices in another bowl. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, one cup at a time. The "KitchenAid" does all the work. Everything was measured exactly as the recipe called for. Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
I have tried many gingerbread boy recipes and these were so easy to prepare and had a delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Funny how what works for some doesn't work for others. The dough turned out too soft. After the cookies baked I attempted to remove them with a spatula to cool, but they squashed together and I ended up with "Gingerbread Sumo Wrestlers!" The flavor didn't really ring any bells either. Onward to the next recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I love this recipe! My 7yo and I have a strange tradition of making these when school ends in May and decorating them with jellybeans or M&Ms. We have done this for several years and used this recipe. Thanks for the post and the memories! I also made them for Christmas and hung them on the Christmas tree as ornaments but our Boston terrier likes them, too, and he would pull them off the tree and eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
These cookies are just sweet enough and have nice texture. I cut the molasses with honey for my little one. I like spice and would have doubled the ginger for myself. The consistency of the dough is what I would expect for a rolled cookie but I did use a smaller cutter than recommended to get more mileage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
Dough was a little dry to work with after chilled. Kneading it in the hands warms and softens it, though it's still a bit crumbly when rolled out. Tastes great, makes nice soft cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was really easy to make, but as I used butter rather than shortening, and as the dough seemed to be a bit dry and crumbly, I added an egg yoke to be safe. They turned out lovely :) Though I think I'll add a little extra spice next time, but I think that's just my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissLadle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States